1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The April Poetry Contest has opened for voting! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

9th Age 9th age rules questions

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by ASSASSIN_NR_1, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. ASSASSIN_NR_1
    Terradon

    ASSASSIN_NR_1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    429
    Trophy Points:
    63
    So a scoring unit, is a unit where in there is a banner, either a standard bearer or battle standard bearer. Unless te unit (or any model in the unit) has "Free Reform". Also lone characters cannot be a scoring unit.
    Now is a Skink chief BSB on a stegadon a scoring unit, or ir the stegadon treated as having free reform, or/and being a lone character?
     
  2. Deusvult
    Chameleon Skink

    Deusvult Active Member

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The Steg does not have Free Reform. Unit types state what has free reform and what does not.

    It is classed as a single multipart model, but is the whole thing classed as a Character, I am not sure. Maybe one of the higher ups could answer this.

    Edit - if you read the first line of characters, it says:
    "Unless specifically noted otherwise, any model bought as part of the Heroes or Lords section of an Army Book is a Character."

    This means that the whole thing is a character, and by my best interpretation, no it cannot score. (I may have missed something though.)
     
  3. ASSASSIN_NR_1
    Terradon

    ASSASSIN_NR_1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    429
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I think you are right that it cannot score, it sounds right.

    Would have been nice though, but probably too good.
     
  4. themuffinman873
    Chameleon Skink

    themuffinman873 Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Two part-er here for 9th age.

    For Caimans in Combined Strength sentence 3:
    Caimans follow the rules for matching bases (see Front Rank), except that they do not have to be placed as far forward as possible, but can be placed anywhere in the unit.

    Then bullet 3 below that states:
    Allocating Attacks: In close combat, attacks can be allocated as normal towards different wound pools in base contact; Skink Braves, Caimans, Champion, Character(s).

    So, if I place my Caiman in the second rank, as is legal from statement 1 (and is legacy for skroxigor), then according to allocating attacks the caimans cannot be targeted? Furthermore it is not even the case that the caiman would receive randomized close combat attacks like shooting (which hits caimans on a 5/6)?

    Even further the last bullet point seems to indicate the same as it specifically states targeting caimans:
    Swirling Melee: Any enemy allocating attacks using the Swirling Melee rule (i.e. attacking Rank and File models not in base contact) may choose to do this either against Skink Braves or against Caimans. If this is used to attack Caimans, the attacks have a -1 to hit modifier.

    I think this is new wording in v1.00, do I have this right?

    Makes skrox darts amazing flankers and cav/monster killers imo since they will generally keep steadfast and don't have to worry about bleeding too much combat res. Skrox in the front however will bleed combat res and would result in certain disaster.
     

Share This Page