1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blog Athrenax's Adventure Into Miniatures

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Athrenax, Oct 10, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Athrenax
    Skink

Athrenax Member

Hi everyone! As you might have heard, I'm pretty new to the scene, and have been asking around for (and receiving) help around here. I figured it was time I shared some of the stuff I've painted so I can get some feedback on my actual painted models.

I had no idea what kind of colors to pick when I started, so I just bought some colors that were suggested on the back of the kits, and figured I could mix more colors if I needed. While I don't mind the schemes on the box, I do feel that I am now kind of "stuck" with them when it comes to painting additional models of the same type so as to make them match. I have also seen some amazing schemes around here that make for very coherent armies, and kind of wish I had done something similar. However, I am still pretty happy with my models, and will probably continue using the "default" color schemes with slight variations.

All my models are primed with Ceramite White primer from Citadel, and I typically paint the base color on most of the body even if I'm going to completely cover parts with another color. Not sure if this has any effect.

I started with a Start Collecting! box, which I have fully assembled, but not yet fully painted. I then picked up a Skinks box, a Temple Guard box and another Saurus box. I haven't actually had time to do a lot of painting, so I don't have a lot to show yet, but here's what I have to show you so far:

First, my Skinks with blowpipes. They are the first (almost) complete unit, missing just the base and some details (bronze on some details, finished weapons, and some cleanup):
    Skinks_blowpipes_front_60p.png Skinks_blowpipes_front_left_60p.png Skink_blowpipe_left.png