1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Tired of the same old Slann pose? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering your own version to the Golden Slann competition - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Bastiladon's MW save

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Xasto, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. Xasto
    Cold One

    Xasto Active Member

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Hey y'all,

    Was wondering if the reroll failed save rolls also apply to the Basti's MW save of 4+?

    Let's say that the bastiladon has been the target of the Skink Priest's Celestial Rite (If I do remember correctly the name), does the reroll to failed saves only apply to his normal 3+ wound save or does that extend to his MW save as well?
     
    Dr Kaos and Crowsfoot like this.
  2. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    8,804
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The rule says "save rolls" so MW should be covered as it is still a "save roll" for that unit.
     
  3. Xasto
    Cold One

    Xasto Active Member

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    43
    That is what I thought and what was accepted in my group of friends, as this is what seems to make the most sense too!
    Makes you really think about how sturdy a Basti + Skink Priest combo can be!
     
  4. Solaris
    Skink

    Solaris Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    13
    No, it doesn't apply! A save roll is specifically a roll that is governed by the "Save" characteristic on a units warscroll. Impervious Defense is an ability, and so is not affected by Celestial Rites.
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  5. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,967
    Likes Received:
    5,080
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I agree. It is a roll that happens to have a defensive purpose, but it is not a save.

    Edit: but then if you got away with it....;):angelic:
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  6. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3,768
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would add that also in the text, the ability to ignore MW is not described as a save...
     
  7. Xasto
    Cold One

    Xasto Active Member

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ah well I guess it was too good to be true!
     
  8. Robertxtrem
    Saurus

    Robertxtrem Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    33
    If it said "You may make a 4+ save roll against mortal wounds" then it would allow rerolls but it doesn't use the word save in the ability.
     
  9. Soul Zenmuron
    Skink

    Soul Zenmuron Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can still save them with insights from Kroak or Starseer
     
  10. Canas
    Salamander

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Trophy Points:
    93
    It depends on if it's called a save roll on the warscroll or not. however since it says "when suffering a mortal wound on a roll of 4+ it's ignored" it does not mention it is a save-roll. It's an ability completly seperate from saves.
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  11. Seraphage
    Salamander

    Seraphage Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Yep it is as @Canas says but Curse of Fate + Kroak dice can still affect it
     

Share This Page