1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Bound Aethervoid Pendulum

Discussion in 'Seraphon Tactics' started by Just A Skink, Apr 3, 2020.

  1. Just A Skink
    Ripperdactil

    Just A Skink Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    986
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I'm kind of an idiot, so can someone help me with the Aethervoid Pendulum Endless Spell?

    Why is the bound version included so often and how does it get used? Doesn't it just go in one direction only?

    Do you just dispel it and recast?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Erta Wanderer
    Skar-Veteran

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    6,204
    Trophy Points:
    113
    people like it because it's got a big base so it's good at blocking and it does the most damage of standered endless spells at a d6 to all units in range or that it passed over.
    yes it only goes in one direction but it doesn't have to move and so if you can get it into a clump of units it can do good work.
    i don't personally talk it but it does have a lot of uses
     
  3. Just A Skink
    Ripperdactil

    Just A Skink Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    986
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ah. I haven't really read the spell closely, so I assumed you HAD to move it every round. That's interesting.
     
  4. Erta Wanderer
    Skar-Veteran

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    6,204
    Trophy Points:
    113
    well even if you do have to move it you can just nudge it a half mm and your good
     
  5. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,938
    Likes Received:
    8,591
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You can choose to move 0". Which is important to know from a rules perspective in general.
     
    Ecozh, Canas, IggyStarhost and 2 others like this.
  6. Alladin the Paladin
    Chameleon Skink

    Alladin the Paladin Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Not sure how useful the bound version of this one is as it’s really a one turn spell most cases. You use it, deal d6 damage, and then your opponent gets all his units out of the path of it.

    I guess you can position it such that an opponent has to get in its path to claim an objective, and play chicken with him
     
    IggyStarhost and LizardWizard like this.
  7. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,938
    Likes Received:
    8,591
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I mean, if you cast it at the bottom of the turn you get to use it twice before they can react.
     
    RandomTsar and Just A Skink like this.
  8. IggyStarhost
    Ripperdactil

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    740
    Trophy Points:
    93
    you mean if you’re going second in the battleround right? The ‘plus’ side which the unbound version has, is you cast it while going second in the battle round and lose the roll of for the next battle round. Is that your opponent need to think hard in giving you a double turn or getting double Aethervoid on a important unit(s), like morathi or so. But if you do have the points bounds seems the way to go.

    Although, I’m still baffled about the finals of adepticon 2019. Where sam took the game by ‘forgetting’ to charge his rippers. Forcing the opponent to either take the first turn or get rippers in his face. It was the battleplan where going second gave 3 points instead or 1 per battleround
     
  9. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,938
    Likes Received:
    8,591
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You get to move and control all your bound endless spells. Endless spells move and trigger at the start of the battle round before either player has a turn. So, if you cast Bound pendulum on a turn in which you went second, then you will be able to activate it twice before you opponents gets their movement phase.
     
    Canas likes this.
  10. Alladin the Paladin
    Chameleon Skink

    Alladin the Paladin Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    63
    This makes sense. I have never played endless spells and though I know the mechanic it’s hard to visualize. 10 pts for an extra d6 MWs is worth it for sure then.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  11. erians
    Razordon

    erians Member

    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It can still do 2D6 without being bound. You cast it when you're going 2nd, then move it within 1" of a unit. Then regardless who takes the first turn of the next battleround it will it remain stationary and deal damage, or move through the unit and deal damage.

    The advantage of having it bound is that you block stuff by placing it in the way then never moving it (and your opponent cant move it either obviously since its bound). Tzeentch before the new book used to take like 5-8 endless spells and basically box in large threats with endless spells making them completely immobile.
     
  12. Grotpunter
    Ripperdactil

    Grotpunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    640
    Trophy Points:
    93
    But if it isnt bound, your opponent can just choose not to move it at all? The warscroll says it deals damage to models it has passed across or within 1” at the end of its move. Never heard of a “at the end of an Endless spell movement phase”, so I would assume it only deals damage if it actually moved.
     
  13. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,938
    Likes Received:
    8,591
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Moving "0" is still movement. What matters is that the spell is selected to by a player.

    Having the bound version will let you have greater flexibility on how the spell approaches the desired unit/s though. In a lot of cases if your opponent is able to move it 8" they will be able to place the spell more than 1" away from small units or support heroes.

    It also allows the spell to act as a wall.
     
    Imrahil likes this.

Share This Page