1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The winners of the Golden Serpent 2016 competition has been announced! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have added a section to discuss Kings of War and the new race Salamanders that is currently in beta. Feel free to discuss anything about Kings of War in these forums. Click here to check it out and post!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. AOS Campaign Warband competition is here! Aid the community by Giving us your ideas! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

8th Ed. BSB Rules

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Obadiah, Oct 5, 2015.

  1. Obadiah
    Skink

    Obadiah New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I'm assuming this has already been covered in another thread but I couldn't spot it...

    What are the rules for what weapons a BSB can take? Could a scar vet take a BSB AND a shield?
     
  2. owain_b
    Saurus

    owain_b Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I think they can take anything they would normally be allowed to if they werent BSB's. I cant quote a rule covering this but in the section addressing normal standards it says they are equiped in the same way as the unit so if the unit has shields the standard bearer does too. So if a normal standard is able to use a shield then I'd assume a BSB can too.
     
    NIGHTBRINGER likes this.
  3. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    7,513
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I believe this is correct. The BSB can take the same items as his regular Scar-Vet counterpart. The only exception is that if he takes a magic standard then he can't take any other magic items (the Slann is of course exempt from this rule).
     
  4. Obadiah
    Skink

    Obadiah New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    That's awesome. Thanks both!
     
  5. Scalenex
    Skink Priest

    Scalenex Keeper of the Indexes Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Trophy Points:
    113
    BSBs in 8th ed can take anything they could take otherwise, equipment or mounts.

    The reason there is some confusion is some earlier editions said otherwise and some of the older army books reflected this.
     

Share This Page