1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chamelon Skink Conversions

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Matzotyl, Apr 8, 2015.

1. Matzotyl
    Cold One

Matzotyl Active Member

So instead of spending lots of money on GW's Chamelon skinks a friend at my local game shop gave me a great idea of how to convert my own so I figured I'd share with you all what I've been working on so far.

First I cut the crests off of the top of the skinks like so, to get them to look a bit more like their chameleon counterparts:

Then I started off molding the eyestalks and tails out of green stuff:

This is all I've gotten done so far, and it's my first time working with Green Stuff. What do you guys think? I'll keep this thread updated as I make progress.

Crowsfoot likes this.
  2. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

Brilliant, I was looking to do some camo skinks and this is just the type of thing.

3. Matzotyl
    Cold One

Matzotyl Active Member

Cool, I'm glad to be able to help you out in some way. I feel like this is WAY more cost effective because you get a Skink Regiment that contains 24 Skinks for $35 USD, where (I'm assuming you only get 5) Chameleon Skinks for $24.75 USD. You still have to buy the green stuff for $10 USD but you're roughly spending $20 more to get about 5x the units you would compared to just buying one set of Chameleon Skinks.

4. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

That is a great money saving strategy. :greedy:

5. Matzotyl
    Cold One

Matzotyl Active Member

Thanks! I thought so too. You'd probably have to spend close probably double or three times the money I spent to get close to the same number of Chameleon Skinks (24 units). It's a little bit of extra effort to convert them all yourself, but well worth it in terms to money spent if you ask me.

6. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann