1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blog ChapterAquila92's Grav-Russ Executioner and other Projects

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by ChapterAquila92, Apr 26, 2018.

1. ChapterAquila92
    Skar-Veteran

ChapterAquila92 Well-Known Member

Heyo! Liam here, and I've been working on the titular project for about 3 years now.

Lore-wise, the Imperial Guard doesn't normally field vehicles that make use of anti-gravity technology, given the logistics required to manufacture and maintain repulsor plating being beyond most Imperial worlds. However, the setting is vast and vague enough that such oddities and more can exist.

Thus, in honour of the Soviet scientist who designed hovertanks back in the 1930s, I'm giving life to the Levkov-Pattern Grav-Russ.
    --
    Starting off, I already had in mind that this would be an Executioner variant - something about plasma cannons on a hovertank made sense to me - so I went out and bought myself a Leman Russ Demolisher kit, which included the necessary parts to build one alternatively. From there, I started working on the hull of the grav-tank-to-be.

THREE YEARS LATER

Oh boy. Yeah, it's been sitting for that long with no progress.

A lot has changed since then however. Games Workshop, as part of their promotion for 8th Edition, introduced the Primaris Repulsor grav-tank for the Space Marines.

[​IMG]

Considering what I was trying to go for with the frankenjobbed Leman Russ chassis, I took one look at this and went "I want that hull!"

It was pricey, but well worth it.

[​IMG]