1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Cold One Cav

Discussion in 'Lizardmen & Saurian Ancients Tactics' started by bhuddiver, Jan 28, 2015.

1. bhuddiver
    Skink

bhuddiver Member

This is both a tactics and modeling question, so I hope I put this in the right forum. General topic: are spears worth the cost? I've seen arguments both ways, but I might have missed a general consensus.

I'm just getting started with LM and have 8 coc. I've turned one into scar vet and another into quasi bsb. I normal play in small games of about 1000 points, so my question is which should I use? And if it's situational, how should I model my 6 remaining coc so I could "do either"?

2. Man0waR
    Kroxigor

Man0waR Member

Cold One Riders are only meant to give Look Out Sir! rule to our mounted saurus characters.

Otherwise they are fine if you compare against mediocre units, S3 or S4.

And subpar choice against S5 or higher as they have low Initiative and may not strike as they die before dellivering their attacks.

If you already have a S7 Scarvet in the unit, Spears are overkill. If you run the cold one riders alone, spears are good for hunting chariots.

3. Scalenex
    Slann

Scalenex Keeper of the Indexes Staff Member

My thoughts are to go with spears since the Strength 5 hits are backed with PF. I also figure that their regular points cost is high enough that a few more doesn't mean much.

Course I don't use COR much, so take that with a grain of salt.

4. lordkingcrow
    Temple Guard

lordkingcrow Active Member