1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Color scheme advice requested

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by emptysubs, Mar 22, 2017.

1. emptysubs
    Jungle Swarm

emptysubs New Member

Hi, all. Thanks for taking a peek. I've just finished painting my first unit for my first Age of Sigmar army (example photos attached). I'm new to mini painting, but I'm generally satisfied with the result. They're a bit darker than I'd like, but that's due to my technique. My poor photography skills aren't helping...

In any case, my dilemma is this: how should I approach painting my Saurus? I like GW's color scheme of dark blue scales and light blue skin for Skinks and Saurus, but if I paint my Saurus using the same colors will that be too much of a good thing/not enough variety? I've considered switching from the caledor sky base with a lothern blue highlight that I've used on the Skinks' skin to a stegadon scale green base with a sotek green or temple guard blue highlight for the Saurus, but worry the teal tones of that scheme will clash with cold ones painted in the standard GW scheme.

Having read over the last paragraph I'm feeling slightly silly for worrying about such trivialities, but I'm hoping you will sympathize with my plight and offer up any advice you've got. I've got some primed Saurus waiting for me to stop suffering analysis paralysis :)

Thanks!

Matthew

20170322_162821.jpg
    20170322_162804.jpg

Warden, Beastie, Aginor and 5 others like this.
  2. Bowser
    Slann

Bowser Third Spawning

I think you can stick with the blues, and put variety in the shields or other models such as the carno and bastiladons that you are sure to get! I like the uniformity of the skinks and saurus, really will look sharp in the table! Paint job is amazing! This skink looks so good!

Aginor, GrDemon and Ritual like this.
  3. Ritual
    Skar-Veteran

Ritual Well-Known Member