1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Custom Made units

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Dangerbutton, Dec 4, 2009.

1. Dangerbutton
    Skink

Dangerbutton New Member

Okay, I'm pretty new to Warhammer, and so far haven't done any tournament play. My question would really only apply to games played with house rules . . .
    Has anyone designed their own units? I'm always a fan of making my own unique things in games, and have had fun converting my lizardmen to look different than the usual. However, just making them look different isn't enough for me. I want to make up my own rules for them.
    This, of course, would be tricky, because a game that has been around as long as Warhammer has probably had a painstaking amount of effort put in to make it balanced. But if I could get it balanced, I'd like to try it out. For use only with friends, with the consent of whoever I'm playing with, of course.

2. Hyperion
    Skink

Hyperion New Member

If you have the consent of the other player. I don't see any problem with creating your own unit!

You can do whatever you want with this game. If you and your friends don't like the way something work, just scrap the rule.

You won't be able to apply this in any GW store and tournament, but who cares? At home, you are the one making the rules on the battlefield! ;)

3. SlannOfItza
    Kroxigor

SlannOfItza New Member

My bretonnia playing friend does this alot...He makes special characters, usually hero level, and gives them very funny special rules. We test them in friendly games sometimes, but they are usually under-balanced and he usually gives them a ton of special rules, but pays alot of points for them. One of my favorites had to be

Sir Regenold the Silly