1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The winners of the Golden Serpent 2016 competition has been announced! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have added a section to discuss Kings of War and the new race Salamanders that is currently in beta. Feel free to discuss anything about Kings of War in these forums. Click here to check it out and post!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. AOS Campaign Warband competition is here! Aid the community by Giving us your ideas! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Dead general

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by milman, Dec 14, 2016.

  1. milman
    Saurus

    milman Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If my general dies (oldblood on foot) do o get to re-assing another to be the general? Maybe the sunblood, and use his command ability?
     
    Bowser likes this.
  2. Crowsfoot
    Skink Priest

    Crowsfoot Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,383
    Likes Received:
    4,439
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No once a character dies the command ability dies.
     
    milman and Bowser like this.
  3. milman
    Saurus

    milman Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That i know. But if he dies,does another hero step-up to become the general?
     
  4. Crowsfoot
    Skink Priest

    Crowsfoot Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,383
    Likes Received:
    4,439
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Nope, you can call one of your characters "General" but he won't have access to his command ability.
     
    Bowser and milman like this.
  5. milman
    Saurus

    milman Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Not his command ability but can the new general do inpiring presence?

    Sorry for the maybe stupid questions :sorry:
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  6. DeadlyRecluse
    Saurus

    DeadlyRecluse Active Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Nope once you lose your one general you lose your commands( inspiring presence incl). Even if you summon your generals model again using a slann, he will not be your general anymore, and therefore can't use his commands
     
    milman, Bowser and Crowsfoot like this.
  7. Killer Angel
    Carnasaur

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    1,535
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I am not totally sure on this. In the allegiances abilities listed in the General's Handbook, under the command traits it is explicitly said that if you must select another general during the game, you pick randomly a new command trait.
    It seems strange that you can have a new general with a new command trait but no command ability. ..

    Unless there is a faq i missed, i think there’s room for discussion
     
    milman likes this.
  8. milman
    Saurus

    milman Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Somebody in the store was saying you always neef a general in your army. But couldn't find anything about it.
     
  9. Bowser
    Skink Priest

    Bowser Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    3,957
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There are some scenarios that allow for a backup general. I played one, maybe from the Pestilens book that required the Pestilens player to break the army into thirds. If you kill the general his third of the army flees. Then the backup general takes over. Though I will scour the rules for any further mentions.
     
    milman likes this.
  10. Wolfwerty33
    Skink

    Wolfwerty33 Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Under the Skaven legacy scrolls, if the General was on one wound and next to the BSB, the BSB could kill him and become the General.
    But I think there's no way for the Lizards to change generals.
     
    milman and Bowser like this.
  11. Bowser
    Skink Priest

    Bowser Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    3,957
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have read it through, and the only thing I can find is that you must start with a general. Nothing about replacing a dead general. I have been through all the FAQ I can find and have turned up nothing. This may actually be a mostly for skaven rule.
     
    milman likes this.
  12. milman
    Saurus

    milman Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for checking! :)
     

Share This Page