1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Double Slann Rules Questions

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Joshua Horchler, Aug 14, 2019.

  1. Joshua Horchler
    Terradon

    Joshua Horchler Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I feel like you can actually create some powerful lists with double Slann and some Endless Spells. Quick questions.

    -Does each Slann add a dice to the EotG? The wording is ambiguous.

    -Do multiple Astrolith Bearers still stack? it looks like their buffs are not unique
     
    Lizerd and LizardWizard like this.
  2. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    17,252
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I am quite sure that only one Slann can influence the EotG.

    For the Astrolith Bearer the wording is pretty clear, it doesn't stack. The keyword here is "any" which means one or more.
     
  3. Joshua Horchler
    Terradon

    Joshua Horchler Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ahhh yes the word any. Thanks. The EoTG wording is definitely less clear. I agree that the spirit of the rule probably is a single Slann but the way its worded doesnt really exclude a second Slann from also being within 10" and flexing "its will" as well lol.

    I don't think I'd play it that way but I could see an arguement for someone who wanted too.
     
    Lizerd and LizardWizard like this.
  4. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    4,741
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You can certainly make an argument for gaining the affect for each Slann within 10" of an EotGs. Be ready to make your case before a tournament organizer though. You should definitely ask the TO about it before attending any event with plans of using this interpretation.
     
    Lizerd likes this.
  5. Workschmock
    Saurus

    Workschmock Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    18
    One could argue that the first Slann to manipulate the EotG applies the rule "cosmic engine", so another Slann cannot do the same because he too would apply the same rule/buff. Balancing wise this would be too good to be true. Slann + Kroak or another Slann with engines could summon so reliably or double move and attacks of the whole army more oftenly.
     
    Joshua Horchler likes this.
  6. Joshua Horchler
    Terradon

    Joshua Horchler Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    93
    yeah I agree. I would play it that way but if you wanted to try and cheese I could see why. I'm okay with people trying to cheese with Seraphon. Skinks have to do what they have to do to win.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  7. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    4,741
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The language of the rule is certainly unspecific and rules as written should allow for each Slann within range to effect the EotGs. I think most TOs I know would rule against though.
     
  8. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    11,335
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Imo you cannot, but for a different reason.
    The first Slann manipulates the engine. It is written that you roll an additional dice and before adding them together you discard one.
    When you discard a dice, the other ones are added together (it's a part of the same course of action) so there's no room for another roll by a second Slann.
     
    Workschmock likes this.
  9. The17thYak
    Skink

    The17thYak Active Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Interesting, by the wording it says if there is A Slann nearby, it can flex it's will... roll one additional dice, that to me reads as with two Slann you could roll 2 extra dice but the more interesting bit is it says to only discard one of your choice, thereby an argument could be made that with two slanns nearby you can roll 5 dice and only discard one... Not that I believe that is the way it ought to be or how I'd play it but the wording is ambiguous enough that the argument could be made by those willing to cheese. I mean the last result is even down as being 18+ which is only possible if you're adding more than 3 dice together.
     
  10. Workschmock
    Saurus

    Workschmock Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    18
    18+ is 18 or higher, so 3 sixes suffice.
     
  11. The17thYak
    Skink

    The17thYak Active Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Yep, I'm aware of that, my tongue was firmly in my cheek, a facetious reason as to why it would be written as a result of 18+ rather than just 18 :)
     
  12. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    11,335
    Trophy Points:
    113
    With Curse of Fate you can have a 19... ;)
     
    The17thYak likes this.
  13. Workschmock
    Saurus

    Workschmock Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah sorry, that is what I had in mind when I typed my response. I guess they worded it that way because of curse of fates and potential other effects, that could be created in the future. Maybe you should just send the question to the GW rule designer team for a faq, but they might ignore it because it could become irrelevant with a new battletome.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  14. Canas
    OldBlood

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    6,105
    Trophy Points:
    113
    they do it for basicly anything that could potentially be modified by a spell or ability or anything. It's just a quick way of ensuring you don't create results with no applicable rule.
     
    LizardWizard and Workschmock like this.

Share This Page