1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blog Dumbledore's Army (army shots and new work)

Discussion in 'Personal Paint Logs' started by Dumbledore, Jun 27, 2009.

1. Dumbledore
    Ripperdactil

Dumbledore New Member

Just finished exams and have thrown myself into painting. This is my first army and painting as I only started collecting a month or so ago. I should have proper photos with good light, a decent camera (ie not my phone) and a white background soon but for the meanwhile I'll throw you a picture of my first week's work (I assembled it all when I first started but only had time to paint the TG before exams, the rest has been in the last half week!).

IMG00081-20090627-1832.jpg

Blending has been my new best friend as I am very new to acrylics, only having known oils. I had particular fun with the cold one who blends from red to a sandy belly as well as the marble stone on the kroxigor. I'm using the same sandy belly on every figure to tie everything together.

Just finishing my spear saurus now and would warmly welcome any feedback. Bear in mind that the horrible light destroys all highlights while the phone camera drains all colour. Proper pictures hopefully will follow soon.

2. WheelR
    Chameleon Skink

WheelR New Member

Re: Dumbledore's Army (first week of painting)

Those scales look alot like the ones i use..(Mine got purple skin though) It is a nice sight for sure.
    Those skinks are nice too.. with the dark upper part of their head and the red eyes sure work well with it.

Good Job i'd say!

3. Dumbledore
    Ripperdactil

Dumbledore New Member

Some better photos, though still with the horrible phone camera. Oddly the very very yellow light made for much better pictures. It still makes very light highlights as well as any drybrushing look very odd.

Kroxigor:
    IMG00115-20090628-2249.jpg
    IMG00114-20090628-2249.jpg

Scar vet on CO:
    IMG00112-20090628-2248.jpg