1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Engine of the Gods FAQ- is it really a nerf?

Discussion in 'Seraphon Discussion' started by LordRibbit, Jan 30, 2018.

  1. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    9,124
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The chance for that is pretty low, but yeah, it might happen.
     
    Ritual likes this.
  2. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,353
    Trophy Points:
    113
    meh, it's unlikely enough that I don't think it'l ever get banned. It'l just never be a viable thin to build a strategy around and it's not like we can field 10 EoTG 's and call it a day either.. Unless we can get it with some certainty in every game I wouldn't expect it to be banned...

    Minor sidenote, how long does it take for em to bring out a new print of rulebooks that have the errata fixed? Even if they don't outright release a new battletome with new fluff and what not I'd expect them to print a 2nd edition with errata and spelling mistakes fixed at one point or another. Or is this yet another thing GW doesn't do?
     
    Ritual likes this.
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    9,124
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I don't think they do that.
     
    Ritual likes this.
  4. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,353
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ..sigh... it'd be such an easy way to make money while costing nothing, you already have the errata just update the text in the print for the specific rulebook like with any other book and print that from then on...
     
    Ritual likes this.
  5. OnlyPerfect
    Skink

    OnlyPerfect New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    According to the wording it doubles the characteristic itself. So while the effect would happen before modifiers (such as +1 attack) it would in theory stack with itself.

    At least that is how it reads. Feels like a long shot that you would have to build a list around. Not the most reliable of strats.
     
    Ritual and Aginor like this.
  6. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    9,124
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah it is only a funny side effect, the chance for it happening is really bad.
     
    Ritual likes this.
  7. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,225
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    Trophy Points:
    113
    no more than those weird lists with 2-3 Engines to roll the 18 for double turn. It's that kind of thing you do for fun.
     
  8. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,353
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yea, but you for the double turn you only need 1 succesfull 18. For the double double attacks you need multiple 18's. The chance of rolling at least 1 18 with 3 engines is about 1.5%, which in 5 turns means there's about a 7.3% chance of it happening once in a given match. That might actually happen every so often in a match. Rolling at leas 2 18's however has like a 0.007% chance of happening making it a hell of a lot less likely....
     
    OnlyPerfect, Dr Kaos and Aginor like this.
  9. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    9,124
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This. But some opponents might still fear it (even though they don't have to), so if someone plays such a list they might provoke their opponents to do something dumb. :D
     
    Canas likes this.
  10. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    2,353
    Trophy Points:
    113
    True, as a psychological tactic it might be effective. Though I'd guess probably a tad costly unless your opponent goes bonkers and just forfits :p
     
    Aginor likes this.

Share This Page