1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Engine of the gods rule

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Stega, Apr 9, 2020.

  1. Stega
    Skink

    Stega Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi guys,

    Is the engine of the gods rule that if you have 2 engine of the gods you can make 2 rolls, or if you have 2 models you can only make one roll?
    I'm english and live in spain and I'm trying to explain the rule to the Spanish people here but they have read the rule differently to me.

    Any help?
     
    LizardWizard and Erta Wanderer like this.
  2. Erta Wanderer
    Skar-Veteran

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,510
    Likes Received:
    5,847
    Trophy Points:
    113
    unfortunately you only get to use it one even if you bring more then one EotG
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  3. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,203
    Likes Received:
    14,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    wait, are you sure?

    the rule says "At the start of your shooting phase, you can make 1 cosmic engine roll for 1 model with this ability"
    I'll grant you that the rule doesn't say "1 roll for each model with this ability", but it seems a harsh reading of the rule.
     
  4. Nart
    Stegadon

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Trophy Points:
    93
    You can still lauch more then one, if you use Thunder Lizard's command ability.

    EDIT: Magically, when I read the ability once more, it is crystal-clear to me, that the ability only restricts singe engine for single roll. It is not for "single" model, it is for "one" model.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2020
    LizardWizard and Erta Wanderer like this.
  5. Erta Wanderer
    Skar-Veteran

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,510
    Likes Received:
    5,847
    Trophy Points:
    113
    very sure. harsh reading has continual been the right ruling with our new book and i don't know why they would mention one model if it wasn't just one time. all other abilities like this say each and i think it was a over reaction to us taking a bunch of them. they don't want us bringing in 10+ warriors every turn or healing 3d3
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. Jatipower
    Saurus

    Jatipower Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    18
    When GW wants to limit that kind of abilities say "any XXX" like the astrolith bearer. I am agree with killer angel
     
    LizardWizard, Erta Wanderer and Nart like this.
  7. Erta Wanderer
    Skar-Veteran

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,510
    Likes Received:
    5,847
    Trophy Points:
    113
    that is when it's talking about auras not triggered abilities. triggered abilities don't make a distinction they just say this model or any model never 1 model
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  8. Nart
    Stegadon

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I showed the wording to my group, and everyone agreed that it is one roll per every model. Not that it is helpful to me, since I have only one and don't plan on getting any more. But bringing 4 EotGs now doesn't seem like a bad idea, especially in thunder lizard.
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  9. Erta Wanderer
    Skar-Veteran

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,510
    Likes Received:
    5,847
    Trophy Points:
    113
    why would they say that though abilities are always 1 per model
     
  10. Stega
    Skink

    Stega Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This definitely needs to be FAQ'd because so many people are unsure of what it actually is
     
    Carnikang and Nart like this.
  11. Nart
    Stegadon

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Well, I just asked a question, if it is once per phase or once per model. And they answered, that it is once per model, because it is RAW. I don't think, that I can participate, since I am not a native speaker. But when I translate it on my native language, it sounds like "per model". I know, that it is not how it works, so I want to see what you decide here, guys.

    But we really need FAQ 2.0. Maybe, we'll get it after GHB?
     
    Killer Angel and Erta Wanderer like this.
  12. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,203
    Likes Received:
    14,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah we can have a single model that deals 29 attacks at 2+, but god forbids us if we pay 500 pts to heal 2d3 wounds...
    Really GW doesn't know how its own game works.
     
    Nart and Erta Wanderer like this.
  13. Stega
    Skink

    Stega Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think the key word is 'for'. If it was one roll 'per' one model with this ability then it would be every model. But as it is one roll for one model it makes sense to me that you can only do it with one model even if you have two minis. Otherwise why would they write the rules like that?
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  14. Nart
    Stegadon

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Trophy Points:
    93
    God knows, why. What we must decide is how it is RAW. Even GW themselves recommend us to do it this way. We cannot guess their intentions, after all.
     
  15. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    11,778
    Likes Received:
    18,717
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I checked the German warscroll and it is pretty unambiguous that you can roll only for one model with this ability.
     
    Hu3pfka3s3, ILKAIN and Erta Wanderer like this.
  16. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,203
    Likes Received:
    14,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Could you share a screenshot of the "unofficial answer"?
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  17. Nart
    Stegadon

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2,133
    Trophy Points:
    93
    upload_2020-4-9_16-18-38.png
    upload_2020-4-9_16-22-51.png
    upload_2020-4-9_16-23-37.png
    upload_2020-4-9_16-24-24.png

    I doubt, that it would be helpful, but here it is.

    The translation in short:

    Me: Here's the wording. Can I only use [this] ability once per phase even if you have more than one EotG?

    Guy 1: Looks like it.

    Guy 2: I guess, you can roll for every model once.

    Guy 1: Oh, wait. You can make 1 roll for 1 model with this ability. English is hard. I think, 1 roll, regardless of number of Engines. Wasn't that FAQed?

    Guy 3: I think, that each model can use it, but GW failed at wording. Enrapturess and Thanquol had the same problem, were FAQed several times and still have bad wording on them too.

    Guy 4 (who is an org): One roll per model.

    Guys 5 (who is also and org): One roll per one model with this ability, I think.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,203
    Likes Received:
    14,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, it's basically "it seems that..." :p
     
    Nart likes this.
  19. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    2,956
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think the wording is very clear, one roll period.

    "At the start of your shooting phase, you can make 1 cosmic roll for 1 model with this ability."

    that's blatantly 1 model.
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  20. Carnikang
    Stegadon

    Carnikang Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    2,962
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I asked this in my FAQ emails, and GW has yet to answer this. Its not readily apparent.

    In C-TL, it's a very powerful ability to use multiple times via the command ability. If near a Slann, you have the potential to bring on 40 (3 Engines, 1 use for all Engine+3 uses of the CA), to 60 saurus Warriors in a turn (3 Engines using the ability each, then 3 CA).

    Otherwise, it feels very poor to only have it usable once. Like @Erta Wanderer has said, the EotG was nerfed fairly hard in the transition, but if each Engine can use the ability, there is potential for support use.
     
    ILKAIN and Erta Wanderer like this.

Share This Page