1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Loremaster and resolving impact hits

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Karnus, Dec 30, 2018.

  1. Karnus
    Kroxigor

    Karnus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I should condense all these questions into 1 thread :S but I have 2 more so here goes:

    1. Resolving impact hits against a character in a unit.

    - The rule for impact hits says to resolve as per shooting.

    - The shooting attacks section says that characters cannot be targeted by normal shooting attacks that use ballistic skill and for everything else the character gets a 2+ “look out sir!” roll.

    - The BRB FAQ states that “look out sir!” rolls cannot be taken against impact hits.

    I am reading this as being able to allocate impact hits to a character as long as long as the unit causing the impact hits finishes it’s charge in base contact with the character in the target unit with no “look out sir!” Rolls allowed.

    2. Loremaster and picking a “secondary” lore. (I’m less confident about this one)

    - The rule for loremaster ends by stating “...a model with loremaster (fire) would know all the spells from the lore of fire”.

    - It doesn’t specifically state that the loremaster lore in question must be picked.

    - This is normally stated under a special characters “magic” entry. Tetto’eko for example states that he is loremaster of heavens but that he can only use the lore of heavens.

    I am (loosely trying to) read this as if you were to choose focus of mystery, your slaan would know all the spells of high magic, but would also get to roll on the lore of its choosing in addition.

    I am confident I am interpreting the rules correctly for impact hits, not sure if I am clutching at straws for loremaster :p

    Anyone have any opinions?
     
  2. ASSASSIN_NR_1
    Carnasaur

    ASSASSIN_NR_1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It's been some time since I've actually played, but here goes:

    1.
    As far as I know, the impact hits are allocated to the unit, as long as there are 5 or more models and when there are less, they are randomized between the character(s) and the unit.

    2.
    I think you are reaching there, although there might be some wording that strictly might make it possible. I think I will go with common sense and say that it would probably be too good.
    I'm reading the loremaster(fire) (for example) as: If you take the lore of fire, you get all spells, and if you do not, you roll for spells as normal; So more like a bonus if you take the appropriate lore, rather than knowing the spells just from having loremaster. (strictly speaking though that might not be the correct way to interpret it).
     
    Lizards of Renown and hardyworld like this.
  3. Karnus
    Kroxigor

    Karnus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I appreciate your response but the rules for shooting state that rule only applies for attacks using ballistic skill. For all other attacks (templates, cannons, etc...) the character makes a “look out sir!” roll.

    Is there an FAQ previous to this that I am unaware of?

    But I do agree with the loremaster rule. Seemed kinda fishy.
     

Share This Page