1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie needs help

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Stribe, Aug 28, 2009.

1. Stribe
    Skink

Stribe New Member

Hi there all,
    As I'm fairly new in warhammer and I'm not very good at painting. So far I've painted about 20 models. Most of them turned out fairly well, but I'm feeling very insecure of which colors/techniques to use for basecoating, highlighting etc. So far, I've only been painting skinks and sauruses which I've been spraying chaos black. For the skin I've been using a mixture of Enchanted Blue and Hawk Turquoise and for the scales, a mixture of Skull White and Enchanted Blue. I've been using a wash consisting of a mixture of water, Chaos Black and Enchanted Blue and I've been dry brushing with a mixture of Hawk Turquoise and Skull White; both for the entire model. For teeth, weapon, eyes etc I have no idea what colors to use. By the way, I'm not interested in trying to become a pro, I just want my models to look decent with not too much effort.
    So I was wondering if anybody would be so kind to give me some advice on which colors and techniques to use for all the parts of an ordinary Lizardman. I know it's quite a bit to ask for, but I'd really appreciate it. The colors I have at the moment is: Blood Red, Bleached Bone, Shining Gold, Snakebite Leather, Chaos Black, Hawk Turquoise and Enchanted Blue. Of course I am willing to buy new ones, but it'd be better if I had the majority of paints needed:)

Thanks in Advance,
    Stribe

P.S. You might need to spell things out since I'm an idiot when it comes to painting (some might say that I shouldn't bother trying to paint warhammer then, but I like it even cause of that)
    P.P.S English isn't my main language, but I hope you understand what I wrote anyway.

2. strewart
    OldBlood

strewart Well-Known Member