1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pinktaco's army: Almost done with my steg aka the red beast

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Pinktaco, Apr 21, 2013.

1. Pinktaco
    Skar-Veteran

Pinktaco Vessel of the Old Ones Staff Member

Hi

So not only am I new member of the forum (I've been lurking for some weeks now), but I'm also new at painting.. well sort of. The first time I painted must've been 12 years ago, when I had a Vampire Count army, so most of my painting skills are long gone and they weren't that good to begin with.

Anyway, painting an army and being at least somewhat original about the color theme quickly became a challenging task to me. Mostly because I personally wanted to be satisfied with both the colors and the actual painting. Since my skills wheren't/aren't up to snuff it was quite frustrating at first.

After several tries of painting and then repainting on a few models I have now gotten (most) of the colors the way I imagined my units to have. It took a week or two with experimenting, but now I'm able to paint units at a decent speed.
    I'm now actually satisfied. I realize that nothing of what I've painted so far is neither perfect or without flaws. For instance today I had painted several saurus warrios in one go and when I wanted to paint the weapon and other details I realized one of the saurus still had a white thumb :rolleyes: Stuff like that is something that still haunts, but it'll get better with time.

Since I realize that core units like saurus warriors shouldn't take up a lot of time I also came up with a method that suited me. I don't think it's what most people do, but it's simple and for the most part I'm happy, although I still struggle getting both the chests and top of the heads the way I want.