1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Question about Summoning

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Flo, Dec 8, 2017.

  1. Flo
    Saurus

    Flo Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hey Guys,

    In a matched Play, if i reserve the Points for summoning, may i summon any unit or just the ones i already have in my army?

    For Example, does my Slann know the Spell Summon Salamanders if i dont have any Salamanders in my Armylist?

    I asked about it in my local GW Store, where the Employee said yes, the Slann knows all the Spells even they are not on his Warscroll (like they just havent printed it on the Slanns Warscroll because it would be too big) and some Tournament Players said no, because you only have Access to the Warscroll (and thus the summoning spell) if you have the Unit already in your army.

    I Haven't found something about this in the FAQs or Erratas, still trying to get an official Statement (seems like our local GW guy is not qualified enough for our tournament Players)
     
  2. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    5,823
    Likes Received:
    8,656
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Not an official statement here of course, but to me it is crystal clear that you can try to summon anything you want as long as you have the model in your case and the warscroll at hand. Everything else would be really silly.

    That's the whole point of summoning after all! Your opponent doesn't know what you will play but you have (among other things) a chance of the summon not working. You trade reliability for flexibility to some degree.

    EDIT:
    Extreme example: You bring Kroak and three units of 10 Skinks, and in your case is everything you own and you have a lot of reinforcement points. Then as soon as the game starts you start summoning.
    You won't win that game but that HAS to be a legal list.
     
    m0gstar, Christopher and Flo like this.
  3. Flo
    Saurus

    Flo Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just found it in the Errata i think

    "Q: Can the summoning spells on some warscrolls be used by the appropriate caster even if None of the models from the warscroll are in my army?
    A: Yes."

    Sounds like a Yes to my Question right? :) (And therefore a Yes to Aginors answer)
     
  4. Canas
    Skink Chief

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    2,076
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There's a F.A.Q. floating around somewhere that also states that if a warscroll for model X says "model Y also has the ability to summon or create these in some way" or some other rule that says "Model Y gets this special ability" that model Y just has that extra ability and it's only missing on model's Y warscroll due to space limitations.This goes for all summoning spells but also for example the tzeentch horrors. The split rule is on the horrors that come from the split, not on the ones that generate it. E.g. blue horrors say "if a pink horror dies it splits resulting in 2 blue horros place em such and such".
     
    Aginor likes this.

Share This Page