1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Question concerning rerolling dice

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Nefertem, Feb 13, 2020.

  1. Nefertem
    Temple Guard

    Nefertem Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    63
    After a long hiatus (yaeh, RL kept me too busy) I'm refreshing the rules before the arrival of the new battletome. I came across the following situation, and I'd like to hear your opinion. Per basic rules you reroll rolls before modification. Per warscroll card (Rippers) I can reroll failed hit and wound rolls. Is the "can" part of rerolling to-wound rolls mandatory for all fails? Because if taken in a Shadowstrike, i also get "+1" to to-wound rolls. So am I allowed to roll to-hit (rerolling fails), rolling to-wound, and only re-rolling 1s and 2s, as I get +1 after reroll. Or do I have to also reroll the 3s? Thanks a lot...
     
  2. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Chief

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    3,692
    Trophy Points:
    113
    rerolls happen before modifiers so you have to reroll 3s as well this also happens if you have a -1 to hit 4s don't reroll and are just misses
     
    MackiMac, LizardWizard and Lizerd like this.
  3. Nefertem
    Temple Guard

    Nefertem Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yes, that's clear. Question is as the text says you can reroll to wound rolls. Does this mean you choose the ones you'd like to reroll, or do you have to reroll all failed ones. I find it Kind of ambigious...
     
    MackiMac and Erta Wanderer like this.
  4. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Chief

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    3,692
    Trophy Points:
    113
    no you have to reroll all or nothing. there are some old exceptions but the wording on this one is not one of those
     
    MackiMac likes this.
  5. Nefertem
    Temple Guard

    Nefertem Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    475
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ok, thanks for the clarification.
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  6. MackiMac
    Temple Guard

    MackiMac Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Then we have played rules like this wrong in our gamling group. We have always played rules that say ”can” or ”may” as something optional.
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  7. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Chief

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    3,692
    Trophy Points:
    113
    it is optional if i had a +2 to my rolls and rolled no ones i don't want to reroll it so i can chose not to. you just can't chose to reroll some but not all of your dice
     
    MackiMac likes this.
  8. ILKAIN
    Carnasaur

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    1,770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    @Erta Wanderer can you link where it says all or none? I tried to look itup but my work internet filter blocks Warhammer community sites, which includes the errata and faqs
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  9. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Chief

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    3,692
    Trophy Points:
    113
    please disregard everything i have said up to this point as it is intierly backwards. im going to have to have words with my local judge but here is the FAQ that proves me wrong
    Q: Some abilities allow me to re-roll a successful (or unsuccessful) roll. When this is the case, is the success or failure based on the roll before or after any modifiers are applied? A: Re-rolls happen before any modifiers are applied, so the success or failure will always be based on the unmodified roll. Note that, when an ability says you can re-roll a failed roll, you may want to consider the effect that modifiers may have before deciding to re-roll the dice. For example, if a roll succeeds on a 4+ and you have a +1 modifier, you probably don’t want to re-roll ‘failed’ rolls of 3, because they will become successful after the modifier is applied!
     
    ILKAIN likes this.
  10. ILKAIN
    Carnasaur

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    1,770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I was pretty certain you could elect what dice to re roll and which not to when the phrasing was "can" or "may". im also certain that when it said "reroll all failed rolls" you can be screwed if some of those fails would have been hits when the mod gets applied
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  11. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Chief

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    3,692
    Trophy Points:
    113
    that would be it i just got thrown because a local judge is very adamant that rippers don't get the choice i think he just had a grudge
     
  12. ILKAIN
    Carnasaur

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    1,770
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yeah he's wrong. some ssssscaley boissss beat that asssss one to many timessss lol
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  13. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    11,963
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The whole "reroll before adjustment" rule, was meant to favor defensive abilities of the target that gives a malus to your attacks, without screwing the bonuses of the attacker: so, you cannot reroll "successful" rolls (even if you know those ones will fail after modifier), but you are not forced to reroll "unsuccessful" ones (when you know they are going to hit after modifier).

    There are few cases when the ability of a single model let you re-roll ANY roll, and those are powerful exactly for that reason.
     
    ILKAIN likes this.

Share This Page