1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Removing thick paint

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Gexmofia, Jul 16, 2009.

1. Gexmofia
    Skink

Gexmofia New Member

A few years past i heard some guys talk about removing thick paint off of models and the best way to do it is to let them soak in bleach

Can anyone confirm this?

2. slannfrog
    Cold One

slannfrog Member

read this.
    http://www.lustria-online.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1778

3. asrodrig
    Carnasaur

asrodrig New Member

I've never used bleach before, but I often use Pine Sol. It works pretty well, as long as you soak your models in it for a really long time.

4. strewart
    OldBlood

strewart Well-Known Member

There are lots of different things to try, I can't say I have heard of the bleach one before. I can't imagine it doing any harm so its worth a try, might have fun with the superglue as well though. Remember to do a test model first.

5. BezZeMad
    Cold One

BezZeMad Member

I personally use Dettol for stripping paint.

Just leave the model in overnight and then attack the mini with an old toothbrush.

Remember to use washing up gloves though as Dettol can make hands rather... flaky.

hope this helps, Bez

P.S. Don't know if Dettol is availible on your side of the World pond though,

P.P.S. Dettol also works for plastic minis, although I have never tried painting one after giving them a 'Bath'.

6. Scarloc
    Chameleon Skink

Scarloc New Member

I use simple green to remove my paint, it works on plastic and metal models. Just let it soak for 2-3 days and then go at them with an old toothbrush.

7. Gexmofia
    Skink

Gexmofia New Member

Thanks guys for the ideas. I tried the bleach and it did work but it took like almost 2 weeks and the plastic model seems more flexible which i dont think is good haha.