1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Ripperdactyl follow up

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by TommyM, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. TommyM
    Skink

    TommyM New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Follow up to last ?

    Swooping dive - does this mean the unit must use it's movement to end in contact with the enemy? No charge or pile in? Otherwise what's the point of 'declaring it' beforehand?

    Seems like with Swooping Dive combined with the Toad, a few Ripperdactyls will kill anything.

    Thanks
     
  2. Tokek
    Saurus

    Tokek Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    33
    It is a perfectly normal move, you just declare Swooping Dive while making it. With base-to-base measurement there is literally no downside to declaring it so you may as well always do it.

    The charge and pile in work exactly as normal.

    Having previously declared the swooping dive you get all the re-rolls. Effectively you should always be re-rolling with Ripperdactyls in the fight phase on your turn.
     
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,833
    Likes Received:
    9,580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, with the change of the core rules to base2base measurement the swooping dive doesn't make a lot of sense anymore. The reroll basically always applies in your combat phase (not in your opponent's though).
     
  4. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    43
    It does make a small difference, if you land you are no longer flying for that charge phase, so you can't charge over enemy (or your own) units or through scenery
     
  5. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It doesn't state you're not flying though so I don't think that holds. Though at least that would be some drawback to the rule, Always wondered why they don't just have the rerolls by default seeing as the rule never seemed to have any real drawbacks or uses unless you did nonsense like putting them on 40" poles so noone can reach em if they don't dive down.
     
  6. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    43
    With the new rules flying only applies during Measuring and moving if you Count as in the ground you can't move across other miniatures or terrain

    Last sentence on the scooping dive ability ;)
     
  7. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Where does it say that you stop flying when swooping down? It doesn't say you land (at least not in the english rules)
     
  8. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Last sentence in the Swooping Dive Ability

    "Until your next Hero Phase, measure Range and visibility for models in this Unit as tough they where in ground."
     
  9. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You also measure it that way for a skink priest with feather cloak and he can still fly.

    I'd just read that sentence as "they fly really low" or "they flutter around like chickens do, in that semi-flying way. Still capable of clearing obstacles and short bursts of flight but mostly bound to the ground".
     
  10. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Where did you read that from the Skink priest? The warscroll just say he can fly

    With AoS flying only applies during any movement, may it normal, run, charge or pile in flying lets you move across Terrain and other miniatures, nothing more
     
  11. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    5,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's pretty much their purpose… the quintessential glass cannon. ;)
     
  12. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Trophy Points:
    113
    the point is that you just measure from the ground, like you do with a skink priest. Cuz he's on the ground. He can still fly. Similarly I don't see any reason the rippers suddenly stop flying in those rules. It doesn't say "they land and only take off again during your next hero phase". It just says they swoop down and so should be flying just above the ground.
     
  13. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I Think we are talking about different things

    I'll try to explain what i mean with screens from the rules :)

    20180715_102615.jpg

    All that flying does it lets you ignore (during any Kind of movement) other Models and Terrain

    For example if a normal Unit want to walk across a wall which is 2 inches high and 1 inch wide you need to take 2 inches up, one inch across the wall and 2 inches down vor a total of 5 inches

    A flying Unit would only take 1 inch as it ignores the up and down Part

    20180715_102656.jpg

    The last sentence here says that you measure Range and visibility as if you were on ground so a swooped down ripper Unit would now need 5 inches too

    Is it clearer that way?
     
  14. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Right like that.

    The measuring from the ground is simply a left-over from the old rules were you would measure from the model and not from the base. Since in the old rules you'd measure from the model and our rippers are on those see through sticks they get a bunch of artificial distance that isn't there for other models that can fly but don't have the lil stick (e.g. skink priests, or a demon prince). All that sentence refered too was "pretend the model is stuck to the base and measure like that from the model instead of measuring like it's on a 3" stick".

    So it's just an old bit that's no longer relevant and can be ignored.

    They really need to update warscrolls… F.A.Q.s really don't cut it like this.
     
    Flo likes this.
  15. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,833
    Likes Received:
    9,580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, we need warscroll updates. We and a lot of other armies, too.
     
    Canas likes this.

Share This Page