1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Saurus Oldblood Command Ability

Discussion in 'Seraphon Tactics' started by Lizerd, Jan 12, 2019.

  1. Lizerd
    Ripperdactil

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I have been working on my Start Collecting box and have nearly finished it. However I do want some help with choosing the pro-cons of each command ability. I currently have decided on a Phoenix stone as it is one of the few options to keep the carnosaur in battle for longer. Currently I am leaning towards a more aggressive command ability such as legendary fighter however I am also fairly open to something more defensive such as Tenacious.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,340
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you want to take generic Order artifacts then you will have to drop the Seraphon Allegiance and then pick a generic Order Command Trait as well. The best options for Relics are probably in the Malign Sorcery book. If you are only picking an Artifact from the books you have then I would consider taking Blade of Realities for extra damage or Coronal Shield for durability.

    For Seraphon Command Traits I would take Disciplined Fury. You have a fairly high to hit and you should find a solid benefit from rerolling 1's.
     
    Lizerd likes this.
  3. Lizerd
    Ripperdactil

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Well I would gladly drop the pheonix stone, the problem is with that is there don’t seem to be many units that can provide healing. However disciplined fury and coronal shield do seem like a good combo.
     
  4. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,340
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There are a number of healing artifacts in Malign Sorcery's Artifacts of the Realm. All you have to do is declare one of the realms as your army's realm of origin and then you can draw form their pool of artifacts.
     
    Lizerd likes this.
  5. Lizerd
    Ripperdactil

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks, that actually helps out a ton, now to rummage through and spend hours deciding on which command ability :D

    Edit: I think I’m settling with your idea of using coronal shield and disciplined fury. Thanks for the help!
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. Lizerd
    Ripperdactil

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Alright: tested the combo in a small battle. Worked beautifully. When I should been eaten by arrows and spears, I was able to get rid of most of them. Probably the best combo you can use on a carnosaur.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  7. Putzfrau
    Salamander

    Putzfrau Active Member

    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I swear by dopplegangers cloak
     
    Lizerd and LizardWizard like this.
  8. Lizerd
    Ripperdactil

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    93
    What does dat do? I am very well informed (definitely not, I’m a drooling noob).
     
  9. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,340
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The artifact has been errata'ed. You can find the updated rules for Doppleganger's Cloak here.
     
    Lizerd likes this.
  10. Lizerd
    Ripperdactil

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Oh, that kinda seems lame. Only once per battle? It could get your guy into some good spots and would be excellent for a wizard that is buffing some dudes such as a Slann or Lord Kroak, but on a Carnosaur? Just doesn’t feel right...
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  11. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,340
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It is a good artifact for a Carno because you can abuse the sequence of actions to allow him a turn in which he is able to attack, but you opponent has no attacks left to declare thus avoiding him taking return fire. This will essentially let you get an extra turn of higher tiered attack out of him.
     
    Lizerd likes this.
  12. Lizerd
    Ripperdactil

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks for the info! (I really am a noob so I have little skill in this) definitely doing to try this out in an upcoming match.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  13. Putzfrau
    Salamander

    Putzfrau Active Member

    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    43
    ERRATED?! Ugh, i'm gutted. Once per battle is supremely lame.

    I also am glad I only got the chance to use it once in my last game... would have felt bad pulling one over on my opponent like that.

    Might have to consider a realm change now.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
    Lizerd likes this.
  14. Lizerd
    Ripperdactil

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    691
    Trophy Points:
    93
    The cloak would be awesome on a Slann starmaster ;)
    I wonder what combo could be used on a scar-veteran...
     
  15. Putzfrau
    Salamander

    Putzfrau Active Member

    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    43
    How come? You don't really want it on a non-combat unit. It's good for mucking with the order of choosing attackers, it doesn't really prevent you from being attacked.

    I use sword of judgement on my scar vet.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  16. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,340
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It can if they have already had to declare the unit it is combat with:D
     
  17. Putzfrau
    Salamander

    Putzfrau Active Member

    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    43
    You really have to play around that scenario and if you're Slann is getting charged, I imagine you're probably beyond the point :).
     
    LizardWizard likes this.

Share This Page