1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Skink Starpriest serpent staff on Ripperdactyl Riders

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Patbuz, Jan 26, 2018.

  1. Patbuz
    Jungle Swarm

    Patbuz New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi!

    I’m wondering if the Skink Starpriest ability "Serpent Staff" is working on the Ripperdactyl’s Vicious Beaks?


    Serpent Staff: In your hero phase, a
    Skink Starpriest can level its staff at a
    SERAPHON unit in your army that is
    within 8", granting them the venom of
    the two-headed celestial serpent. Until
    your next hero phase, whenever models
    from that unit attack with their bite or
    jaws, a wound roll of 6 or more causes
    twice the normal amount of Damage.
     
  2. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,247
    Likes Received:
    9,928
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Rules as written I'd say no:
    The attack has neither the word "bite" nor the word "jaws" in its name.

    I still say it should work.
     
    Arawn likes this.
  3. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    2,470
    Trophy Points:
    113
    To be honest, even as written I would say yes. The rules say "with their bite or jaws", their attack is a bite. They might be using beaks but they have vicious teeth used to rip enemies apart so the attack in question would be a bite. It's not like a terradon's beak where they'd peck. So even if they attack doesn't say "bite" or "jaws" it's still a "bite" attack. So even when rulelawyering I'd still say yes..

    On a sidenote, what's the rulling on rules that have similar phrasing? For example take a auric runefather on magmadroth's weapon breaker. It can break weapons. Can that trigger against say a carnosaur's massive jaws? They're not "weapons", and breaking it like you'd break a sword would be well, silly... What's the general rule on that? Or better yet, what if his weapon breaker procs against a stegadon's crushing stomps? Are we going to claim that someone dodging a massive dinosaur stepping on them can somehow cause the dinosaur to have more difficulty stepping on things afterwards?
     
    Aginor likes this.
  4. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,247
    Likes Received:
    9,928
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have no clue to be honest. I will need to investigate.
     
    Canas likes this.

Share This Page