1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slann WiP thread (first off palanquin)

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by strewart, Apr 24, 2009.

1. strewart
    OldBlood

strewart Well-Known Member

With the suggestion of a warseer member and under an absinth induced fit of artistic inspiration, I decided to try making my Forgeworld Slann a palanquin made of pure energy, so he will be holding himself afloat. This involved a clear flying base and a lot of ink/wash then some careful painting, this is my first time painting lightning. I think it still needs to be shinier, but I'm too scared to try more ink yet. The ink rolled off most of the clear surface without an undercoat (I feel that would have ruined the effect) so I had to use several coats including blue wash and a mixture of ink with dishwashing liquid, an old technique to give the ink a much smoother finish and better coverage due to reduced surface tension.

Anyway... I am rambling. I present my Slann palanquin, and a pic of him unpainted on the palanquin.

slannpalanquin.jpg

slannonpalanquin.jpg

Thoughts?

2. kkboy
    Skink

kkboy Member

Totally love your mystic and magical painting. probably what you could do, is to ink only the edges of the lightningish energy to make it look like one big magical source. but these are just suggestions, I already love it the way it is!

3. Jim
    Skink

Jim New Member

really really like the idea and the base, looks awesome!

btw how much did u pay for your slann? im being offered one for £70 not sure if thats too much or not.

4. strewart
    OldBlood

50 pounds including postage to Australia... I wouldn't pay 70, that is a touch too much. They come up on ebay occasionally and usually go for around 50.

5. wappellious
    Temple Guard

wappellious New Member