1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Spears or Clubs?

Discussion in 'Seraphon Tactics' started by Zephyr789, Oct 14, 2016.

1. Zephyr789
    Jungle Swarm

Zephyr789 New Member

Hello im new to Age of Sigmar, i really like the seraphon and especially the look of saurus units. So far i have the start collecting box and another box of 20 saurus warriors. so im willing to bet this question has been asked on here before but after an hour of scanning through the forum i cant for the life of me find it, which is better for a saurus warrior based army, celestite clubs or celestite spears? does the extra range on the spears heavily outweigh the 3+ wound on the clubs? aesthetically i think the clubs look nicer but my local store is very competitive.

2. n810
    Slann

n810 First Spawning

That's because they are both good.

Though I suspect spears are better for large units,
    and clubs are better for smaller units.

3. scubrat
    Temple Guard

scubrat Well-Known Member

What n810 said, think of it this way, you essentially double the amount of attacks you can do with spears as the line behind the front can also attack, so if you surround a monster with 10 dudes and have another 10 dudes behind them, you've got 20 attacks with the spear, on average you'll do 20*(4/6)*(3/6) wounds (nearly 7 wounds), whereas in the same scenario with clubs, you've got 10 attacks, on average you'll do 10*(4/6)*(4/6) wounds (about 4 wounds).

Bowser likes this.
  4. Tokek
    Chameleon Skink

Tokek Well-Known Member