1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Splitting Attacks

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by A_Reptile_Dysfunction, Aug 13, 2019.

  1. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Skink

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So, I have a Sunblood in combat with 2 separate heroes. Can I declare that I want to bite one of the heroes and hit the other with my hand weapon?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    2,984
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes.

    However, you have to declare where every attack will be targeted before you make any of them. You can attack any target you are in range to attack.
     
    A_Reptile_Dysfunction likes this.
  3. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Skink

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Perfect, I thought that’s how it read in the ‘Picking Targets’ section of the core rules but my opponent seemed to think otherwise.

    Also are the 3 new command abilities in the GHB19 (all out defence/attack/volley) in addition to or a replacement of the previous ones such as ‘Inspiring Presence’?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    4,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In addition to.
     
    A_Reptile_Dysfunction likes this.
  5. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Skink

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks! Is this written down anywhere? I wanted to re-roll my charge with sunblood and was told that those particular CA had been replaced by new ones in GHB19.

    Seems my Opponent was a bit of a WAAC type. He also tried to tell me I couldn’t use LOSAT once my general was dead and that sunclaw Starhost didn’t exist as it wasn’t in GHB19.
     
    LizardWizard and Canas like this.
  6. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    4,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Should be in the GHB where the new ones are written down. I'l look it up once I get home from work (and if I remember :p)

    Well you're opponent is wrong to the point it almost feels like he's trying to cheat.. Cuz that's quite some absurbd claims.
     
  7. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,321
    Likes Received:
    15,010
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Pretty much what @Canas said.
     
  8. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Skink

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    18
    We did have a look in the GHB19 and it didn’t mention the old command abilities, only the new ones under ‘Pitched Battles’. Although if you know elsewhere in the book where it clarifies that would be great!



    I don’t think he was trying to cheat. We are both old WHFB players still learning the new system although he is overly competitive for a learning environment.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  9. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,321
    Likes Received:
    15,010
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The regular command abilities are in the core rules, because they apply to all game modes.

    If the ones in the pitched battles section of the GHB were used instead of them then the GHB would say so.
     
  10. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    4,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Where the new ones are listed it should say something along the lines of "you have these additional command abilities" or "in addition to your regular command abilities" etc. In general, unless it's explicitly stated that rule X overwrites rule Y rule Y will still hold.

    Possibly :p
     
  11. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Skink

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for the clarifications!

    Last one I promise! ;)

    Bloodthirster of Insensate Rage, does it get stronger as it takes more damage or get weaker?

    The reason I ask is because the damage table states 13+ when it only has 14 wounds.

    13+ is 13 & 14 but at 14 damage taken it would be dead so why show a stat line for it and not just print it as 13?

    Unless it works the way I think it does and it means that if the bloodthirster has 13+ wounds (as opposed to taken 13+) it’s at its weakest, getting stronger the more wounds it takes.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  12. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    4,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It gets weaker the more it's wounded. So at 13+ wounds suffered it is at its weakest.

    The reason they write it down like this, on every damage table, is cuz it's sometimes possible to increase the wounds value of a model, for example using an artifact or spell. By writing X+ in the last row they guarantee the table remains correct no matter how much you'd manage to buff the model with extra wounds.

    As an example if they just wrote 13 suffered wounds suffered instead of 13+, and you'd somehow manage to buff your bloodthrister to have 15 wounds he could be alive with 14 wounds suffered and the table wouldn't cover that situation. But by writing down 13+ that situation is still covered.
     
  13. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Skink

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, just thought I’d make sure. Damn that thing hits hard! Especially with the 8” area effect.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  14. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    4,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It's a bloodthrister, hitting things hard is kind of it's life's goal :p
     
  15. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    2,984
    Trophy Points:
    113
    So, your opponent said Sunclaw wasn't useable because it wasn't in the GHB? There are Matched Play Points cost for the Battalion and it is literally a requirement to use Fangs of Sotek, both of which are in the GHB.
     
    A_Reptile_Dysfunction likes this.
  16. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Skink

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah he came to that conclusion eventually once I pointed that out and asked him to read LoSaT carefully. I was just using it as an example of his behaviour.

    He saw only DT and FoS as entries and immediately assumed that they were the only ones allowed by the most up to date ruleset. Similar situation to the Command Abilities which I eventually conceded as I couldn’t find anything in the GHB19 that says the new ones are as well as, which meant I couldn’t reroll my snake eyes to charge with sunblood.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  17. ILKAIN
    Terradon

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    93
    what is WAAC? other than how "Whack" that rules interpretation was lmao
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  18. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    4,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    win at all costs according to the internets
     
  19. ILKAIN
    Terradon

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ah, so still WHACK, hence the phonetic sound of WAAC lmao
     

Share This Page