1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Stegadon alpha skink

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by John1974, Jun 21, 2018.

  1. John1974
    Saurus

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you use the skink alpha ability movement ability on the stegadon upon which the skinks are on and is there a q&a to show people that call bull. . I know it says skink unit but i think i read somewhere that you could and also if you can and you successfully teleport but can't move can you still use the ability considering is in the hero phase and not the movement pphase
    What i was thinking now with the rule change to our teleport 1-2 fail 5-6 success abd movement. I was thinking of taking a slann with curse of fates to cast on a stegadon with sunfire throwers . The curse will render the success roll to a 4+ abd only fail on a 1. Fire on a large unit and charge it in. The tatic seems to have a better chance now
     
  2. Dr Kaos
    Skink

    Dr Kaos New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    3
    The Stegadon have the SKINK keyword and can therefore order itself. It cannot however order regular units of skinks since they have the SKINKS keyword.
     
    John1974 likes this.
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    9,583
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oh man I hope they finally fix that bad wording on the Skinks warscroll.

    My interpretation: plural and singular is equivalent. So the Stegadon can order itself or any other Skink unit, including Skinks.
     
    John1974 likes this.
  4. John1974
    Saurus

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Cheers fir the answer guys what about using the move after a failed teleport roll or partial success.
    As far as i see it only says it loses its movement in the movement phase but the skink command happens in the hero phase
     
  5. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    9,583
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The LoSaT text doesn't specify the phase, so I would say that the unit LoSaT failed to teleport cannot be commanded either.
     
  6. John1974
    Saurus

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Under the dice roll results it says that TLOSATcounts as the movement for the next phase .. but we are still in the hero phase where the skink command happens the movement phase hasn't happened yet

    images (1).jpeg
     
  7. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    9,583
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's not what I meant. I meant if it fails. The text just says it "cannot move or charge in this turn" without specifying a phase.
    Note that it doesn't say the unit "cannot move in the movement phase" but says "in this turn" which points to the whole turn.

    From a fluff perspective it makes sense as well: if they are so paralyzed "contemplating the Cosmos" that they ignore their orders, why would they react to the command of the Skink Alpha?

    But your argument makes sense, the other two possible outcomes specifically mention the movement phase.


    Hard to tell.
     
    John1974 likes this.
  8. Dr Kaos
    Skink

    Dr Kaos New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I am blessed with reasonable opponents who realize, just like I do I might add, the problem with plural -s in keywords. But it happens more often when I want rerolls with my Kroxigors.
     
    John1974 likes this.
  9. John1974
    Saurus

    John1974 Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah they need to definately do an overhaul on the wording for the warscrolls..or is it warscroll..lol
     
    Dr Kaos likes this.

Share This Page