1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Summoning question

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Ninthplain, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. Ninthplain
    Jungle Swarm

    Ninthplain New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello all,

    I apologize in advance if this has been asked and answered but I am relatively new to Serephon in Age of Sigmar - only played a few games.

    A situation came up last night that to be honest looked overpowered but our group was assured this was how it worked.

    A Slaan in turn one forgoes all his spells so he can earn summoning points, he also has the Astrolith bearer so I beleive he earned 12 points in this turn. On turn two he does the same thing again and has enough points to summon in a Troglodon, which he does to great effect. Is this possible?

    To date I have only summoned skinks and the occasional saurus unit so I am thinking I am doing it wrong and the above method is much better.

    Thank you in advance,

    Ninthplain
     
  2. ASSASSIN_NR_1
    Bastiladon

    ASSASSIN_NR_1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    666
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Welcome to the forums.

    From what I have seen of the summoning rules then it is indeed possible, and 12 summoning points each turn is about average with a Slann as general and an astrolith bearer. It's not like the interval of possible acquired points is large of course. With the Slann as general along a astrolith you would get between 2 and 4 every turn (statistically 3 is the mean) and then you add 3 for every spell you choose to forego for summoning points, resulting in a max mean of 12 points, or an interval from 11 to 13 points..

    Whether it is better to summon the expensive- or cheap stuff depends on the situation I guess but having enough points for a Troglodon in 2 turns is certainly possible, so no you are not doing it wrong :)
     
    Seraphage and Aginor like this.
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,858
    Likes Received:
    12,354
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yep, sounds about right. :)

    Welcome to the forums!
     
  4. Killer Angel
    OldBlood

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,639
    Likes Received:
    7,347
    Trophy Points:
    113
    welcome to the forum!

    that's right.
    The summoning of a troglodon on turn 2 is, indeed, trivially easy.
    WIth a marginally focused build you can summon a carnosaur at turn 2.

    here, let me help you. ;)
     
    Seraphage and Aginor like this.
  5. Audvin
    Saurus

    Audvin Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    18
    But why summon a Trog when you can get a EotG for the same amount? :p
     
  6. Killer Angel
    OldBlood

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,639
    Likes Received:
    7,347
    Trophy Points:
    113
    EotG is one of our strongest units when fielded since the beginning, but not amongst the best ones when it comes to summoned units.
    Let's say you conjure an EotG turn 2. You cannot activate the engine in the turn you conjure it, so you are going to lose 1 turn to use the full potential of the EotGā€¦. and given that the summons by the EotG, call units with a 12 CCPs value, you will obtain a positive income at turn 4. Maybe.

    A Trog, while our weakest dinosaur when fielded at the beginning, it's very strong when summoned, because it's a reliable charger: with an astrolith nearby, he will likely wound a target, gaining +3 to charge. Add some further bonus (constellations, cogs...), and you will almost surely charge in the turn the Troglodon appears. A free charging dino at turn 2 is very good, and the combat profile of the Trog is far from bad
     
  7. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,858
    Likes Received:
    12,354
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I had a Troglodon completely annihilate a unit of Orruks at least once.
    Charging in, having fun with their bad save, and having even more fun with their reduced bravery.
    I think it were Bonesplitterz archers so that Kunnin' Rukk was seriously hurt.

    I think the Troggy survived even one more round.
    Also keep in mind, AoS2 rules now force that unit to use its range weapons against the Troggy instead of your more valuable stuff.

    He also may allow your Slann to extend his spell range. That's useful from time to time.

    Also: he looks big and scary, and many people don't know that he isn't _that_ strong so they commit more forces to fighting him than they should.

    So yeah the Troggy can really be a valid choice for summoning.
     
    Seraphage and Koriialstraz like this.
  8. Audvin
    Saurus

    Audvin Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Valid points there. Question about the Trog though. If it wounds with the spit but the opponent saves all wounds, can you still add 3" to charge?
     
  9. Killer Angel
    OldBlood

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,639
    Likes Received:
    7,347
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Nope, it must inflict at least an unsaved wound.
     
  10. Audvin
    Saurus

    Audvin Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hmm. I was hopeing that the wording on the warscroll would tip in my favour there :p
     

Share This Page