1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Thunderquake Starhost

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Patbuz, Dec 19, 2017.

  1. Patbuz
    Jungle Swarm

    Patbuz New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi i have just started collecting my seraphon army and was looking in to Thunderquake Starthost.

    I have some problem understanding the warscroll.

    “The Creator’s Will: The Engine of the Gods or Troglodon, and any units from the

    Thunderquake Starhost within 8", are guided by the will of their creator. At the start

    of each combat phase you can declare that all of those units will either be swift, in

    which case you can re-roll charge rolls and failed hit rolls for them, or savage, in

    which case you can re-roll failed wound rolls and save rolls for them.”

    A: For the first does it mean that all units need to be within 8” of Troglodon of Engine to get the buff?

    B: it says you choose at the start of EACH combat phase. So twice a round, in your turn and your opponent's turn. Otherwise it would say "in each of your combat phases" like other warscrolls do.

    C: it does NOT say something like "until your next hero phase" or "in the following combat phase" which would indicate when the buffs end. So it is either

    C1: the buffs apply only in the combat phase

    or

    C2: the buffs apply until the next combat phase

    or

    C3: they end at some other, arbitrary point? I'll ignore that one for now.

    D: it DOES mention a CHARGE roll, which can never occur inside a combat phase.


    --> So if C1 is true the charge buff NEVER works.

    --> If C2 is true the charge buff works, but never in the first round (you choose it after the charge phase), it applies in your NEXT turn, which is weird.

    --> If C2 is true it even means that I can use three of the four buffs in one turn (I choose swift the turn before so it applies in my next charge phase, then in the combat phase I choose savage and get the other two). That sounds needlessly complex to me so I assume it could be an error.

    --> C2 also automatically would mean that all the buffs on saves, wounds, and hits apply all the time, also in the shooting phase or when a special ability allows them to attack or be attacked in some other phase
     
  2. Arawn
    Saurus

    Arawn Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I play B version.
    At the start of each combat phase (yours and the oponent) you can choose between swift and savage. And the bonuses apply until the start of the next combat phase, when you chose again.
     
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,786
    Likes Received:
    10,608
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah. It doesn't work before the combat phase of turn one and afterwards you can change it each turn and it works all the time.

    And yes that means if you chose swift in round one then you can use it to charge in turn two and then change it to savage so you benefit from both in that round.
     
  4. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,676
    Likes Received:
    5,580
    Trophy Points:
    113
    As correctly said, B is the way to go and the bonuses remain up to the start of the next combat phase.

    I would add a precisation about A.
    it's debatable if
    A1: the units must be within 8" when you declare the buff, and they keep the bonus even if they go at a greater distance (PROBABLY THE CORRECT WAY TO DO IT)
    or
    A2: the units must stay within 8" to use the bonus
     
  5. Stevie754
    Skink

    Stevie754 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I think this is the way it makes most sense, otherwise buffing charge and hit rolls and then charging outside of the 8" bubble would make the rerolls to hit it comes with wasted.

    Also the "Creators Will" ability says EOTG or Troglodon AND any units within 8". At the start of each combat declare that ALL those units will be swift or savage.
    It doesn't mention while within the range of the buffing bubble.
     
    Canas likes this.
  6. LordRibbit
    Temple Guard

    LordRibbit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    63
    So if I'm reading this right for example in your first combat phase you can declare swift or savage on all models within 8 inches. Then as long as you don't change it again through the game and the engine doesn't die you can move the other models in the formation as far and wide as you want and not lose the buff?
     
  7. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,786
    Likes Received:
    10,608
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That is... complicated.
    We have discussed it a while ago and indeed the rules as written are a bit unclear.
    I think it is intended that you re-trigger it every round and if a unit is outside of 8" it doesn't work on that unit so you have to stay together.
     
  8. LordRibbit
    Temple Guard

    LordRibbit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    63
    That's how it's intended at least from how I understand it
     
  9. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What if you somehow manage to move someone out of that 8" bubble during the current combat phase it was declared in? Does he retain the buf or does he lose it?
     
  10. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,786
    Likes Received:
    10,608
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would say the unit retains the buff.
    The check happens at one point.

    The same thing goes for other abilities that are activated in the hero move or combat phases (Orruks have some like that IIRC)
     
  11. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Trophy Points:
    113
    mm, i've never been entirely clear on a lot of abilities like this, stuff that's a bubble around a given character. It never states if to benefit from it you need to be in it on cast or whenever you'd actually want to use the bonus. And there's quite a lot where being in it when you want to use the bonus makes sense. Obviously, an orruk warboss shouting at his underlings the check is when he casts, but stuff like the thunderquake host or a priest with priestly trappings are a lot less clear.
     
  12. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,786
    Likes Received:
    10,608
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The important part is a small part of the wording. I'll post some better examples later But I think based on some examples we can deduct a clear rule.
     
    Canas likes this.

Share This Page