1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Washes and Inks (need a replacement for GW Chestnut Ink): SOLVED

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Warden, Sep 24, 2018.

1. Warden
    Slann

Warden Tenth Spawning

Need some help the painting experts out there. :artist::bookworm:

Right now I have been using an old pot of GW/citadel "chestnut ink" for the past 10+ years. I mostly use it just for a "wash" applied after the first layer of skin-colored paint is added (paint --> ink wash --> highlight). It has finally run out, and I need a replacement for a dark brown ink.

I have tried GW's Agrax Earthshade, but the pigment isn't nearly as concentrated as I want. Don't get me wrong, the earthshade works great for other things, but doesn't color up the recesses of the mini's faces nearly as good as the ol' reliable chesnut ink does.

I have heard good things about Vallejo's ink collection, anyone have any experience? Do their inks have a higher level of pigment than GW earthshade or is it about the same? I am looking at the three brown colors: Vallejo Game Color Ink 17mL Sepial, Brown, and Skin Wash.

Should I look into other paint line inks to get the consistency I am looking for?

Crowsfoot likes this.
  2. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

All you can do is try it, Vallejo is good quality and I've heard really good things about their inks.

Lord-Marcus and Warden like this.
  3. Deed525
    Stegadon

Deed525 Well-Known Member

Haha you are not alone @Warden I am clinging on to the dregs of my chestnut ink - scared to finish the pot lol

Warden and Crowsfoot like this.
  4. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Warden and Deed525 like this.
  5. The Red Devil
    Stegadon

The Red Devil Defender of Hexoatl Staff Member