1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS 2 Endless Spell Questions

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by xoid, Aug 17, 2021.

  1. xoid
    Terradon

    xoid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I was rereading through the endless spell rules and have two questions.

    1) Does the Astrolith Bearer now increase the range at which endless spells can be setup? I couldn't find a rule saying their ranges couldn't be extended.

    2) Emerald Lifeswarm says you can heal d3 wounds when you set it up, and after it moves, does this mean on the turn you cast it you can heal two things?
     
  2. Putzfrau
    Skink Chief

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Trophy Points:
    113
    1) Contentious and needs an faq. In my humble opinion, I firmly believe the answer is no. GW goes to great lengths in 3.0 to make "spells" and "endless spells" separate things (for example, spell shrugs don't work on endless spells) and I think this is in keeping with the intent that was clarified in the 2.0 FAQ that specifically didn't allow this. 19.3 also specifies that endless spells can't be affected by abilities, however some people argue that's refering to just the model, not the spell that cast the endless spell (which seems a little gamey to me, but i agree it isn't super clear.)

    Basically, there are a lot of arguments for and against. I'll always advocate for playing the "safer" way until clarification comes to avoid unnecessary feels bad at the table.

    For what it's worth the 3 GTs i've been to this year have all said no, you cannot. However, there have been a few in Australia that have allowed it.

    2) Yes, the turn it goes off it heals twice.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2021
    xoid likes this.
  3. xoid
    Terradon

    xoid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    972
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks for the answers.

    And yeah, now that you point it out saying no to range extension based on spells and endless spells being different things makes since to me, with the way they are presented in the rules, and that's how I'll play it until GW says otherwise.
     
    Putzfrau likes this.
  4. Putzfrau
    Skink Chief

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, and there's nothing more important in this game than the social contract between the players. If it's a casual setting and you and your opponent both read the rules as it does extend the range of endless spells, by all means. I just don't know if i'd necessarily play it that way without discussing it first with my opponent or checking with a TO.
     
    xoid likes this.
  5. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,258
    Likes Received:
    22,489
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Was in a 2.0 FAQ / errata or in a 2.0 designer's commentary?

    because if the latter, it's still 100% valid, as it's not about the specific rule but it's the game as intended.
     
  6. Putzfrau
    Skink Chief

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It was designers commentary.
     

Share This Page