1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Celestial Deliverance + Arcane Vassal + Balewind

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Nukes4life, Jul 27, 2020.

  1. Nukes4life
    Saurus

    Nukes4life Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hey guys,
    Yesterday I played a game and I was under the impression that with a troglodon I could cast the Celestial Deliverance with the added range from the balewind through the trog. My opponent didnt think this was fair so I didn't get to use the extra range but RAW I think it does work right?
    Another question I had is about endless spells, can you use the arcane vassal to cast endless spells or not? I know the range increase from balewind doesnt work on that.
    Thanks guys
     
    Grotpunter likes this.
  2. Grotpunter
    Terradon

    Grotpunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    869
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Range increases do work when you cast through Arcane Vassal. It is literally the only reason why Oracle is semi OK. The spell is still cast by your Slann, so bonuses etc apply as usual, the location from where you measure is just changed to the Oracle instead.

    You cant cast Endless Spells through Arcane Vassal. There is a FAQ in the malign sorcery where it states you cant increase the range of an Endless spell, but you also cant measure the range for setup etc from another location than the caster.
     
    Killer Angel and LizardWizard like this.
  3. Nukes4life
    Saurus

    Nukes4life Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    18
    All right thanks for the info! The endless spell thing is a shame, i like to keep kroak safe in the back but for those endless spells you like to be closer. Or do you usually cast them with the trog/skink priests?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. Grotpunter
    Terradon

    Grotpunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    869
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Usually I only bring Balewind for Kroak and Bound Geminids which whatever other caster can attempt in turn 1, else Kroak casts it in turn 2. Pendulum or Purple Sun could be interesting but my issue is that their range is rather short so I usually dont bother with a third Endless spell, and if I were to bring a Troglodon I would want his 1D3 CCP I think.
     
    ILKAIN and LizardWizard like this.
  5. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have been known to suicide his ass into a troubling anvil and cast CD through him 3 times and then a pendulum that swipes through the unit. but that's more flavorful than it is competitive lol
     
  6. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,739
    Likes Received:
    16,056
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You can increase the range also with an astrolith bearer.
    So yeah, Kroak on BWV and AB, plus arcane vassal = long ranged nuke with large blast.

    It may seems unfair, but it's one of our tricks and how the rule works. Otherwise it's unfair that i charge fyreslayers and they fight first.
     
    Umon likes this.
  7. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Trophy Points:
    113
    uh... AOS doesn't have the "units that charged fight first rule" that 40k does.
     
  8. Grotpunter
    Terradon

    Grotpunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    869
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Well if you charge its also (usually) your turn, so you usually get to fight first ;)
     
  9. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Trophy Points:
    113
    no.... you pick one unit to fight first and then your opponent does...... all I'm saying is it was a bad example *shrug*
     
    Grotpunter likes this.
  10. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,739
    Likes Received:
    16,056
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Usually you pick one unit to fight first. Fyreslayers says "no, you fight after my unit, even if you charged with only one unit and you should go first". That was the example.
     
    ILKAIN and Tav like this.
  11. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ah, without specifying how many units were in combat I didn't realize this is what you were getting at.
     
    Killer Angel likes this.
  12. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,739
    Likes Received:
    16,056
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, indeed I should have been more clear. ;)
     
    ILKAIN likes this.

Share This Page