1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Characters in units that get wiped out

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Lizards of Renown, Aug 15, 2020.

  1. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'm going to post a couple of odd scenarios that I ran into in my last battle (Lizardmen vs Orc's & Goblins)

    The first one is this:

    Goblin Spider Rider unit with Goblin Chieftan. Every unit member (9 of them) got wiped out.

    I told my friend that he needs to do break test and since it's less than 25% of unit left he needs a double 1 otherwise he fails.

    He said that as it's a character alone now, he then is just subject to character rules (as if he'd left the unit). He didn't leave the unit before it got wiped out though...

    In the interest of having a fun game, I dropped the point. But for me his boss, as he deployed as part of the unit, was a surviving member of the unit and should have needed a double one as otherwise he's out of there.

    Help?
     
  2. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
  3. Tk'ya'pyk
    Skink Chief

    Tk'ya'pyk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    5,345
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oo, that's a tricky grey area. Was the character part of the unit? If so, then TECHNICALLY yes, he needs to make a break test for having the unit wiped out.
     
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  4. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well, he did. At least this part we agreed on.

    However, I was saying that as he is the last member of a unit that has been wiped to less than 25% of it's starting number, he needed a double 1 to pass...

    This is where we argued briefly, then isaid forget it as I was more interested in just having a fun game.
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  5. Tk'ya'pyk
    Skink Chief

    Tk'ya'pyk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    5,345
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, that's kind of a touchy issue on that one. I'm pretty sure if he started as part of a UNIT, then he has to be TREATED as part of that unit, even if they get wiped out.
     
    Imrahil and Lizards of Renown like this.
  6. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, that's whati thought too...

    He argued that it would make it non-viable to include a character in a unit, as if they all die then he is basically fled-or-dead automatically as he will need a double 1 to rally.

    Seems like a good penalty for me if you put a character in with cannon fodder.

    @Scalenex any contribution? Tik has already asked Nightbringer to weigh in.
     
  7. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    @NIGHTBRINGER can you weight in on the four new question threads I've put up?
     
  8. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    57,857
    Likes Received:
    178,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I answered the one that I felt I had a decent answer for.
     
    Lizards of Renown and Imrahil like this.
  9. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oh, I see...

    Fair enough. Thanks anyways.
     
  10. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    57,857
    Likes Received:
    178,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    They're definitely tricky scenarios. I thought I had an answer for the stupidity vs. animosity question you presented, but upon closer inspection it is a bit more complicated.

    In the end, I'd rather give no answer, than a poor answer.
     
    Imrahil and Lizards of Renown like this.
  11. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, fair enough.

    This one really irks me though... But as there is nothing definite I would tend to agree with him even though it seems a bit unfair. They have lost their protective bubble though so could now be shot.
     

Share This Page