1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Drop Rocks Question

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by The Great White Lizard, May 10, 2021.

  1. The Great White Lizard
    Cold One

    The Great White Lizard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Hey just a quick question. Can Terradons use their Drop Rocks ability on another flying unit? It explicitly states they have to fly over it, not just through the unit. So how would this work?
     
    Imrahil and Lizards of Renown like this.
  2. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    43,548
    Likes Received:
    129,009
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes they can, it works just as it would with any other unit.

    Flying units are only counted as being in flight when they are moving, at all other times they are considered to be on the ground. This is why you can charge them just as you would any other unit.

    "The flyer starts off on the ground, takes off, flies to where it wishes to go, and then lands. Flyers, therefore, begin and end their movement on the ground." -BRB, page 70
     
  3. The Great White Lizard
    Cold One

    The Great White Lizard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thanks! Wanted to know bc of a warhawk riders vs terradon riders flying match we're doing.
     
  4. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    6,407
    Likes Received:
    15,446
    Trophy Points:
    113
    +1 to this.

    The point is that they are not flying between movement.
     
  5. Imrahil
    Skink Priest

    Imrahil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,861
    Likes Received:
    7,481
    Trophy Points:
    113
    follow-up question (if I may :oops:)

    If said flying enemy unit is landed on a high-ground ;) (for instance a mountain range) does the terradon unit need to climb in height to encounter or fly over them? And therefor losing some sort of movement.
    Or
    Are flying units assumed to always fly above all things from the start of there movement?

    (I know little about movement in the fantasy ruling, but in AoS non-flying units lose movement for climbing(moving vertically))

    Grrr, Imrahil
     
  6. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    6,407
    Likes Received:
    15,446
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No. Flying models suffer no restrictions for movement of any kind due to terrain.

    It's 10" normal move (no modifiers) and a 20" march move (no modifiers).

    Don't worry, ask me any WFB questions you want. And come join us on the right side of the Force...

    :D
     
  7. Imrahil
    Skink Priest

    Imrahil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,861
    Likes Received:
    7,481
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Since AoS is going into yet another edition I might just do that, for Fantasy rules won't change anymore... but for as long as I don't have anyone to play either one of them I will firstly stick with Middle Earth SBG ;)

    If I will be totally converted I know where to find my masters :joyful:

    Grrr, Imrahil
     

Share This Page