1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Help with Salamander Mortal Wounds

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Trainwreck, May 24, 2021.

1. Trainwreck
    Jungle Swarm

Trainwreck New Member

I'm pretty new to the game, and want to know how the mortal wounds for "It Burns!" work with how the Salamander Hunting Pack warscroll is written. For context, I had one salamander kill a Lord Aquilar who had no damage on him in a single attack in melee. This felt wrong. But I am not comfortable enough with the rules, however simple they may be, to know exactly how.

Here's how I played it, please tell me where I messed up so I can play the game better.
    • I was getting the extra jaw attack from my coalesced army.
    • Doing 4 attacks I rolled a 3+ on all 4 dice, and 2 of them were 6s.
    • For the two non-6 rolls I rolled to wound at a 3+ and wounded with both. These were savable.
    • For the two 6s I rolled D3 for each of them individually, and rolled a 5 and a 6. I declared I had scored 6 mortal wounds (as I understood I rolled a 3 and a 3).
    • He failed one save, and made another. Making 7 wounds in total and killing his general.
    After the game I was reading the warscroll because this didn't seem balanced at all. The end reads "and the attack sequence ends (do not make a wound or save roll)." Now that I have read this again, my interpretation is I should have rolled D3 one time, caused that many wounds, and ended that combat sequence completely: thus ignoring the second 6, and my other two successful wound rolls (which I would have never rolled).