1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Mangler Squigs into close combat

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Lizards of Renown, Aug 15, 2020.

  1. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In my last battle, a Saurus unit and an Ancient Stegadon were in combat with a Night Goblin unit.

    He had a Mangler Squig run into the combat as he didn't care about the Goblins (fair enough).

    But then I hit a question. He was totally certain that it means that all three units then suffer 2D6 S6 armour piercing hits and it pops out the other side.

    I thought that it would be randomized since any shooting into combat gets randomized (since the models are in a swirling melee, not clearly laid out as you see them).

    He stated correctly that the Mangler Squig rules didn't say "distribute hits as for shooting" as it does in Impact Hits or similar rules.

    Still seems very odd.

    Help?
     
  2. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
  3. Tk'ya'pyk
    Skink Chief

    Tk'ya'pyk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    5,345
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Okay, when it comes to melee, you 1: cannot charge THROUGH other units, therefore technically his mangler squig should only have been able to hit the ONE unit he chooses to charge. That means all of the impact hits should hit JUST that unit he chooses to charge. Note I said "UNIT," not UNITS. Unless he comes into base contact with BOTH units, the mangler squig can only hit one, therefore can only cause Impact Hits to one.
     
    Imrahil and Lizards of Renown like this.
  4. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hmmmmmm......

    The Mangler Squig has random movement and cannot charge. Theoretically (as my friend moved him in this battle) he did come into base contact with all three units.

    Just seems a bit OP with the Goblin tarpit.
     
  5. Tk'ya'pyk
    Skink Chief

    Tk'ya'pyk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    5,345
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hmm... That seems off. Last I checked, during movement, even with random movement, unless they're all right in line with each other, he should contact the FIRST unit, and STOP. Unless both units are perfectly lined up, he shouldn't be ABLE to hit another. @NIGHTBRINGER, you're more up to date on WFB rules than I am, I haven't played in a while. Could you weigh in?
     
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  6. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You're right. It should pop out the other side of the unit. But it was a melee with 3 units all touching each other (ancient Steg, saurus and gobbos).

    My friend claimed that as the mangler squig model's base will touch all of them, then they ALL suffer 2D6 S6 armour piercing hits.

    Just seems wrong as if you fire intocombat, you have to randomize who gets hit. In this scenario I let him have it (for the purposes of having a fun game) so all THREE units took the hits.

    Seems wrong, but I can't find anything that would clarify...
     
    Imrahil likes this.

Share This Page