1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Steg and chief weapon break down

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by chefofwar, Oct 2, 2020.

  1. chefofwar
    Saurus

    chefofwar Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Had a question with dice rolling for the skink chief on a steg.

    -Base profile has 3 warspears (assuming for the skinks riding on back)
    -chief includes a model armed with warspear: does this increase the melee profile +1 attack? or the chief replaces one of the regular riders?

    example combat phase roll

    Meteoric Warspear: 4 attack (3 black dice, 1 red die to delineate for any CA or artifact powers)

    or 3 attacks (2 black dice, 1 red die) if the chief "replaces" one of the regular crew.

    Maybe reading too into it, but approaching it through the lense of having an "alpha" in a unit.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    11,851
    Likes Received:
    18,923
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In AoS that kind of thing is pretty simple:
    Everything is on the warscroll.
    It is a single model, it has one list of attacks, and the warscroll mentions it when it gains or loses attacks.
    It does so for the Skink Chief. It doesn't mention anything else. So regardless of Skink Chief or not, and regardless of which main weapon option it uses, it has 3 attacks with the meteoric javelins.
     
    Canas and LizardWizard like this.
  3. chefofwar
    Saurus

    chefofwar Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ok, thanks for helping out!

    follow up then, since it is one model, in regards to artifact or CA, you would use the warspear line item, @ 3 attacks, but that would be the weapon system to track special if there was a bonus or special effect to consider.

    like the serpent god dagger for example, "pick 1 of the bearers melee weapons".

    Assuming you cant give artifacts to carnosaurs jaws, or a stegs horns... that seems silly...
     
    Aginor and LizardWizard like this.
  4. Grotpunter
    Troglodon

    Grotpunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    1,004
    Trophy Points:
    93
    The core rules specify artefacts dont apply to mounts, unless it specifically says so. So yeah, the dagger would affect the Meteroic Warspear.

    Command abilities dont have this restriction though. So if the Steggy Chief buffed himself, you would get +1 attack on the Warspear, Horns, Jaws AND Stomps. Same if you give him +1 to hit or reroll 1’s to hit. It applies to all attacks.
     
    Canas, Tav, chefofwar and 2 others like this.
  5. NecridHydra
    Saurus

    NecridHydra Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    33
    No. If you read the "Description" section, it's stated that the skinks attack with the javelins, while the Skink Chief does with a Warspear.

    So, if you don't get a Skink Chief, on combat, you ignore the profile related to the Warspear, the same way you ignore the Clubs profile in your Saurus because you decided they'd bring their spears.
     
    chefofwar and Killer Angel like this.
  6. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,180
    Likes Received:
    17,092
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Plus, the crew got ranged attacks, while the chief's weapon is melee.
     
    NecridHydra likes this.

Share This Page