1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Stupidity vs Animosity

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Lizards of Renown, Aug 15, 2020.

  1. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Funny scenario:

    We did the proper job and rolled for the terrain.

    One of the pieces we rolled was the Fungus Forest (units even partially in the forest suffer from Stupidity. Goblin units also are Steadfast).

    He failed a charge with a unit of Spider Riders and ended uip in the forest.

    At the beginning of the next turn, the unit failed it's Animosity test... he rolled and the result was MUST declare a charge. However, the unit was also suffering from Stupidity and he failed the leadership test.

    So now we have two conflicting rules: he MUST charge and MUST do nothing but stumble forwards 6 inches.

    In the end we decided that Animosity didn't cancel Stupidity, so they stumbled forwards.

    I think we did it correctly, but still have attention on it.

    Help?

    @Scalenex @NIGHTBRINGER @Tk'ya'pyk @Imrahil
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2020
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  2. Karnus
    Razordon

    Karnus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I think that you played it correctly, however it isn’t clear cut.

    You need to pass a stupidity test before you can declare a charge under normal circumstances. The animosity result said you must declare a charge (not that you must charge). So that’s fine.

    It gets more complicated when you start to delve into AB vs BRB. You could argue for example that the army book overrules the main rule book in this regard. Would animosity cancel out stupidity? I can’t honestly say.
     
    Imrahil and Lizards of Renown like this.
  3. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, I think we played It right. It just wanted to ask on the forum in case I was missing something. Thanks.
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  4. Imrahil
    Slann

    Imrahil Thirtheenth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    18,061
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This is exactly what the BRB states on page 11

    IMG_20200820_202458.jpg

    Grrr, Imrahil
     
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  5. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Good point
     
    Imrahil likes this.

Share This Page