1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS summoning and objectives

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by chefofwar, Sep 14, 2020.

  1. chefofwar
    Skink

    chefofwar Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    18
    After a game with nurgle where a summoned plague bearers unit moved onto an objective to finish the game and secure the win. We were discussing this FAQ.

    From what we read is that summoned units (plague bearers and my summoned skinks) would thus not be "battleline" and could not control an objective? is that correct?

    The mission was "Better part of valor" where it requires battle line units to control objectives.
     

    Attached Files:

    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.
  2. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    8,975
    Trophy Points:
    113
    They do not count as battleline. So any battleplan that specifies battleline as holding objectives would prevent the summoned units from performing this role.
     
  3. Imrahil
    Skink Chief

    Imrahil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    3,601
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Reading this reminds me of the Ardfist Battalion and sparks the question: how about them Ardboys?

    The errata said the following:
    Because it states: "a new unit identical to the one that was destroyed..." So if a Battleline unit is part of my Ardfist Battalion and is destroyed, and the Dawn of Waaagh! is succesfull, will this be a Battleline unit?

    Grrr, Imrahil
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    8,975
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would say it is battleline. Identical means identical. So all keywords and battlefield roles should apply.
     
    Putzfrau likes this.
  5. Canas
    Slann

    Canas Ninth Spawning

    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    8,091
    Trophy Points:
    113
    honestly this is such a weird rule. Did they ever explain why this was the case? I only remember them stating summoned stuff doesn't get the keywords but never giving a reason for it.
     
    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.
  6. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    8,975
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I imagine it has to do with army limit restrictions. Only 6 heroes, 4 Behemoths, 4 Artillery, ect. Could have also been a balancing thing. Also, it might have specifically targeted Duality of Death to help elite battleline armies in the meta. All speculation though. I never saw a designer comment side that provided their reasoning. It could also just be the rule. Perhaps it doesn't have a strict purpose besides providing a definitive yes or no.
     
    Imrahil, Putzfrau and Canas like this.
  7. Putzfrau
    Carnasaur

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I've actually heard the opposite. Any new unit brought on does not have the battlefield role, and I could see the argument that that rule supersedes all others (for example the "identical" aspect of the ardfist battalion). They also specifically clarify that you can't lose the battlefield role once you've gained it (ardboyz dropping below 10 models is the reference) so maybe identical does mean identical? i dunno.

    Honestly, GW should probably clarify what counts as a new unit vs bringing back an old unit in general.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2020
    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.
  8. Canas
    Slann

    Canas Ninth Spawning

    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    8,091
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It seems rather a weird variable to tune for balancing though. It's not even relevant in all battleplans, so it seems a rather weird an arbitrary weakness to put into summoning, not impactfull enough to actually make a difference in the grand scheme of things.
     
    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.

Share This Page