1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Sword of Striking & Predatory Fighter

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Lizards of Renown, Jul 16, 2020.

  1. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,773
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Sword of Striking gives a +1 bonus to hit.

    Predatory Fighter says you get an extra attack on a roll of a 6.

    Combined, you would have predatory fighter on a roll of 5 or 6.

    Thoughts?
     
    NIGHTBRINGER likes this.
  2. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    57,857
    Likes Received:
    178,598
    Trophy Points:
    113
    "Whenever a model with this special rule rolls a 6 To Hit in close combat..."

    I'd interpret this to mean a natural roll of 6 only.
     
  3. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,773
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Bah, humbug! You're no fun! ;)
     
    NIGHTBRINGER likes this.
  4. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    57,857
    Likes Received:
    178,598
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's the way I read it, maybe someone will feel otherwise!
     
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  5. ASSASSIN_NR_1
    Carnasaur

    ASSASSIN_NR_1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    1,698
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I agree with NIGHTBRINGER, although I also play PF working from supporting attacks, and not everyone agrees on that.
     
  6. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,773
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Fair enough.

    This, I feel, is another one where I am slightly surprised given that in the rules for supporting attacks (bar Monstrous Infantry) it specifically says that you can only ever have 1 supporting attack no matter what special rules.

    I think the senior rule of all warhammer is what you and your group/opponent think is fair.
     
    NIGHTBRINGER and ASSASSIN_NR_1 like this.
  7. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    57,857
    Likes Received:
    178,598
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The good old predatory fighter debate. (for the record, I play it as @ASSASSIN_NR_1 does... supporting ranks can generate PF)


    One of the few band topics on Lustria Online! We do have a poll for it though!
     
  8. ASSASSIN_NR_1
    Carnasaur

    ASSASSIN_NR_1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    1,698
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I just think of it as an additional attack, not another supporting attack, the supporting attack just might generate the extra attack, and not strictly speaking generate an extra supporting attack.
    At the very least my gaming group has no problem with it.
    It does of course raise the potential damage quite a bit, but statistically it is such a small thing to allow PF for supporting attacks that it rarely matters and rolling separately is just not satisfying. Besides if you are rolling 6's like there is no tomorrow I think you'll win regardless.
    The only case where it might matter is with kroxigors, but they can use the slight boost anyway.
    Besides if it is not allowed, then the ability just seems very lackluster on all but characters, and makes the Troglodon even worse.

    I guess the same could be said for the +1 to hit interacting with PF. It would be a way to mimic Gor-Rok's, and since you will "only" be hitting at strength 5, without magic, I guess it would not exactly be overpowered. You can always ask whomever you play against what they think, and if they allow it, then great.

     
  9. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,773
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's the senior datum. If they’re fine with you playing it, then great.

    True. I will ask.
     
    ASSASSIN_NR_1 likes this.

Share This Page