1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Charmeleon in total commitment?

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Avatar of Mork, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. Avatar of Mork
    Skink

    Avatar of Mork Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I need your input on this one. Its obvious that the charmeleon and any other unit with reserve deployment cant be in reserve at the start of the game in the Total commitment battleplan. But what about later turns?

    Look at the text on the warscroll and battleplan (emphasise mine) below.

    From the warscroll:
    "If this unit is in the Battlefield at the end of your movement phase, you can remove it and say that it is hiding as a RESERVE unit"

    From the battleplan:
    "NO RESERVES
    In this battle, all units must be set up on the Battlefield before the battle begins. Any unit that is SET UP as a RESERVE unit are destroyed..."

    At first I thought that the reserve thing only applies at the beginning of the battle but reading the text again I have to say that it sounds like the chameleon skinks cant hide with their ability later in the battle.

    Opinions?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,863
    Likes Received:
    8,406
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Reserves are only units which are not deployed in the deployment phase. Having a redeploy is not a reserve, even thought it happens across multiple turns. So, you couldn't set them up in ambush during deployment, but you could use it on a turn after deployment.
     
  3. Avatar of Mork
    Skink

    Avatar of Mork Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    13
    They actually dont redeploy as is the case with other teleports. They are put in to reserves as described on the warscroll. They can later be set up from reserves. And as reserves they are destroyed in total commitment. I would have hoped for something else but can not.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,863
    Likes Received:
    8,406
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oh, you are right. I didn't see that the new language for their ambush named them as a reserve unit. It use to work in the previous battletome :(
     
  5. Canas
    OldBlood

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,938
    Likes Received:
    7,599
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Doesn't it still work though? Given that you put them in reserve after the first battleround, but you don't set them up in reserve?

    If we're going to be arguing about semantics I feel putting back in reserve and setting up in reserve are 2 different things.
     

Share This Page