1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Command Abilities and Parting Shot specific question from a Newbie

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Vindowviper, Apr 9, 2020.

  1. Vindowviper
    Jungle Swarm

    Vindowviper New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I am pretty new to AoS and trying to do some searches for rules questions before asking, but I am getting lost in the weeds due to fantasy, AoS V1, and AoS V2 forum posts making me go crazy!

    First question the noobie question.

    Can I spend a command point on a Command Ability (Such as Parting Shot, for the Fangs of Sotek) more than once a turn?

    I ask this in two ways.

    1. Can I use it on the same unit more than once (bearing I have the command points to do so)
    2. Can I use it more than once a phase on two different units from the same hero? Aka, is it only once per hero its coming from? or once per unit? or once per phase at all?

    Example, I have 2 units of Skinks with Javelins, and 1 Lord Kroak within 18" of both skinks. The both units get charged and have enemy models within 3" allowing Parting shot to be able to activated.

    I am assuming I can't do it twice for this specific command ability, as after the movement (if the movement is successful) then they are not within 3" of being charged and can't do it again... But if the 4+ doesn't work, can I cast it again to try?

    Also, once the first unit clears its ability, can I do the same ability again on the 2nd unit (as long as I have the command point to do so)?


    My 2nd question is more specific to Parting shot. It mentions "pick 1 friendly Fangs of Sotek Skinks unit from the skinks warscroll"... Can I pick a stegadon with Skink Chief? or a Stegadon in general to do this? I'm assuming no because of the "from the skinks warscroll" wording, but I wasn't sure if thats how the specifics of keywords worked.

    Thank you for the time and patience with my ignorance! I'm really excited to learn the in's and outs!
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    14,613
    Trophy Points:
    113
    First question.
    1. No, only once per unit
    2. Yes, you can use the command ability 2 Times on 2 different units

    Second question
    it can be used only on units of skinks or chama skinks.

    I would like to give a more developed answer but i am typing on mobile
     
  3. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,863
    Likes Received:
    8,406
    Trophy Points:
    113
    @Killer Angel gave you great answers specific to parting shot.

    One thing to note is that any command command ability can be used any number of times on different or the same unit provided you have the command points for it and there is no other qualifier preventing its use. The Seraphon FAQ and Designer Commentary is what limits the usage of Parting Shoot.

    Some common wording to be aware of are abilities that say :"Within 'x' inches of ANY hero who uses this command ability." This is GW's way of saying something doesn't stack if applied multiple times.

    Most other command abilities will have wording within the abilities usage that prevent it from being used multiple times if it is limited. Always check the AoS FAQ and Errata for the most recent updates.
     
    ThePhilosopherX and Vindowviper like this.
  4. Vindowviper
    Jungle Swarm

    Vindowviper New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Is this true for all command abilities? Each unit can only be the target of that ability once? but I can use the ability as many times as I have points for on the same phase as long as its different units that all meet the requirements (been charged, 3" from model, and 18" from friendly hero)?

    It has nothing to do with the hero that is within 18" as that's purely a modifier for the ability to even be used at all?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  5. Vindowviper
    Jungle Swarm

    Vindowviper New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ahh, Thank's for clarifying. I read the FAQ a while back when it first came out, but I forgot the specifics to my exact questions. My lack of knowledge for Command points, and my inability to read FAQ's correctly is my bane! thank you for the help you two!
     
    Killer Angel and LizardWizard like this.
  6. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    14,613
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, Yes and Yes

    There will always be someone that will answer questions :)
     

Share This Page