1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Curse of fates D3 interaction

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by ILKAIN, May 11, 2018.

  1. ILKAIN
    Temple Guard

    ILKAIN Active Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    If I have a curse of fates on a wizard unit that successfully casts mystic bolt (or any other D3 mortal wounds spell) and I roll a 2 on a D3 (a real D3, I have them lol) do I bump to 3 or is there a rule that says I have to use a D6 and count 1/2 for 1, 3/4 for 2 and 5/6 for 3? the wording on the spell says "a single dice roll"
     
  2. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,476
    Likes Received:
    11,675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you have a D3 that is the die to use if you don’t have a D3 use a D6 the rule says roll a D3 so your opponent cannot argue if you own and roll a D3, I have them as well
     
    ILKAIN likes this.
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    10,676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I don't have something from GW about it, but IMO:

    The range of a D3 is 1-3 so curse of fates would change a 2 to a 3 obviously.

    The D6/2 rounded up is just a bandaid because most people don't have a D3. Which of the d6 sides created the 2 is irrelevant. The roll was a 2 so you can change it to a 3.
     
    Ecozh, Canas and ILKAIN like this.
  4. ILKAIN
    Temple Guard

    ILKAIN Active Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Thank you gentlemen I was simply concerned that I may have overlooked a rule that specifically made us use actual D6’s
     
  5. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Bad News for you.

    In the AoS Rules it is stated clearly that all dice rolls are made with a D6 and then converted to the D3, you will always have to roll 6 sided dices. They stated this to stop people from fooling around with things wherever they haven't statet D6 (roll a dice - great i take a D100)

    So with the Curse of Fate you increase the roll on a D6 and after that it is halved and round up

    1 on a D6 stays a 1 on D3
    2 on a D6 goes up to 3 and therefore is a 2 on D3
     

    Attached Files:

    • D6.JPG
      D6.JPG
      File size:
      47.2 KB
      Views:
      9
    Crowsfoot and Aginor like this.
  6. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    10,676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Good catch, so yeah, technically the "real D3" is not allowed in Age of Sigmar.

    But following GW's logic the point is still increased after the roll, so after halving and rounding the total of the D6 since that is part of the roll. Note how they use the word "total" and not "result" here. That's because the result of the roll is what the virtual D3 shows.

    So if he rolled a 3 on the D6 (which becomes a 2 on the D3) and then uses the spell to increase the result of the roll by one, it becomes a 3.
    He does not go back to the D6 total before halving, applying the bonus to create a 4 which then after halving and rounding also becomes a 2.

    Curse of Fate will work on a D3, I am absolutely sure that's what is intended.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  7. ILKAIN
    Temple Guard

    ILKAIN Active Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    well that's pretty clear cut.

    *grumble grumble*

    lol jk, this is why I asked, obviously I want to win, but not at the cost of my integrity. I will have to correct the matter when next I play that individual.

    *EDIT*
    posted this as Aginor was responding lol... that does make sense. (and of course I like the answer better) damn we need some official clarifications for a lot of things in this game lol.
     
  8. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,476
    Likes Received:
    11,675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hmmm I can't see a poblem rolling a D3 for a D3 roll just like you don't measure from the model we all use base to base.
     
  9. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yeah but measuring Base to Base is a House Rule, of course if your opponent(s) agrees to your house rules everything is fine ;) But for the Basic Rules it's a D6 :)
     
  10. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    10,676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, although the reason they included it is mostly that they don't have to say D6 every time they say dice.
    I don't see a problem using a real D3 either, as the results are absolutely the same.
     
  11. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Not when using Curse of Fates :D
     
  12. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,476
    Likes Received:
    11,675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I get that but a D3 among friends would be fine.

    Roll a D6

    1,2 is a 1
    3,4 is a 2
    5,6 is a 3

    Or am I missing something
     
  13. ILKAIN
    Temple Guard

    ILKAIN Active Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    just re-read curse wording and the rules image Flo posted, the interactions between the two absolutely have you roll, half the number to get the result, then adjust the result of the roll by 1 per the ability. so the 2 damage becomes 3. Thanks every one!
     
  14. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    10,676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes they are. I explained it above.

    There is no D6 result when the warscroll says D3. Just a D6 total that gets halved and rounded to get the D3 result.
    And the result is what is changed by the spell.
     
  15. Flo
    Cold One

    Flo Active Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yes but if you increase the roll by 1 you have

    Roll a D6
    1+1 is a 1
    2+1 is a 2
    3+1 is a 2
    4+1 is a 3
    5+1 is a 3
    6+1 is a 3


    EDIT: ah okay so CoF is applied after the roll of the D6/2 then it's the same :D
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  16. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    10,676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes. Check the wording. Curse of Fates changes the result. What the d6 shows is not the result.
     
    Flo and Crowsfoot like this.
  17. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,476
    Likes Received:
    11,675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Right so going off that you are better rolling a D6 as you have 3 (50%) chance of getting 3 damage opposed to one chance on a D3 (33%) and only a 16% chance of getting 1 damage on a D6 but on a D3 your minimum damage would be 2 (1+1)

    Rolling a 3 on a D3 is pointless as you can't add the +1

    Makes sense now ;)
     

Share This Page