1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Ethereal Slann Loadout

Discussion in 'Lizardmen & Saurian Ancients Tactics' started by shelman, Mar 3, 2014.

1. shelman
    Skink

shelman Member

So I'm going to be getting a Slann soon, but alas, I have no Temple Guard block to sit him in! I'm thinking then, that the best way to use a Slann without TG is to give him Higher State of Conciousness for that Ethereal goodness.

But I have no real experience using a Slann and I'm not sure what kind of gear I should be giving him. This is what I've got so far:

Slann
    Higher State of Conciousness
    Obsidian Loadstone

Already that is getting quite expensive, but with Ethereal and a 2++ save against magical attacks he's not going to die. The way I see it, I need to be doing a lot of damage to make him worth it so I will need some of the stronger spells. Is High Magic the way to do this? Or should I just take Light or something and hope for the best?

I'm also contemplating a BSB on him, then I'll have an 'unkillable' BSB and General, so stuff near him isn't going to run away.

Please let me know what you think. What would you add to my skeleton build?

2. Xuil
    Chameleon Skink

Xuil Well-Known Member

First of all, as you rightly said, your ward save vs. magic will only ever be 2+. You get this with the Obsidian Amulet (MR(2)), so there's no need to spend an extra 15pts on the Lodestone, especially when it won't be imparted onto any unit.

If you DO go BSB, the War Banner is a lovely addition to an ethereal Slann. +2 combat resolution should see you not only holding, but actually winning combats against units with no magical attacks. Ranks are the only issue. The Crown of Command it therefore an even safer option.