1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Hellcannon Rules

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Lizards of Renown, Feb 29, 2020.

  1. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Right, I think that I have found a MASSIVE point on the effectiveness of the Hellcannon and having checked all rules several times over, I'm pretty sure I'm right but would appreciate any input:

    In the Hellcannon Rules, it states that it has to take a leadership test every turn and if it fails it has to turn to face the closest enemy unit and then move 3D6 inches towards it.

    It is cited as troop type "Monster" with the "Monster and Handlers" special rule.

    It has a leadership of 4. The Chaos Dwarf Handlers have a leadership of 9.

    I checked the BRB and under leadership tests it says you use the highest leadership "of the unit".

    Under "Monsters and Handlers" it states, "The handlers aren't really a combat unit per se, so we ignore them for most gaming purposes, treating the monster itself as the extent of the unit."

    Based on the above, the Hellcannon (as a Monster) would take the leadership test on its own leadership of 4 and if it fails it would swivel to face the closest enemy troops and then move 3D6 based on the Random Movement.

    I.E. It can't shoot unless it passes a leadership test on leadership 4.

    @NIGHTBRINGER @Lord Agragax of Lunaxoatl @Scalenex @ASSASSIN_NR_1 @Imrahil @airjamy

    What do you reckon? I keep looking at it and can't see any flaws in my reasoning, but I think I might be too caught up in it...

    Obviously the thing is still pretty flipping dangerous it it gets into combat, but this would take out it's god-like unit status in my opinion.

    Cheers.
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  2. pendrake
    Skink Priest

    pendrake Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,567
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No.... it tests on the Dwarf’s leadership Number. That is the point of them. (And the point of trying to KIA them.)

    Sorry
     
  3. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    But which rule states that?
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  4. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    @Aginor would appreciate also any input from you. Cheers.
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  5. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    11,774
    Likes Received:
    18,706
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Sorry I have no clue, I never played 8th edition.
     
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  6. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    32,583
    Likes Received:
    89,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I believe this FAQ entry is what you are looking for...

    upload_2020-2-29_20-0-57.png

    Top-Hat-Smiley.jpg
     
    airjamy, Imrahil and ASSASSIN_NR_1 like this.
  7. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Blast...

    WoC are ridiculous.

    I will keep searching rulebooks until I have found weaknesses to exploit.

    How do I get the PDF of the FAQ's?
     
  8. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    And am I missing something or is the only way to kill the handlers by a) misfire result or b) rolling 5-6 when the Hellcannon suffers a wound (after it's T6, 4+, 5++) ?(sigh)
     
  9. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    32,583
    Likes Received:
    89,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    https://eefl.freeforums.net/thread/129/wfb-edition-official-faqs-download

    Bend the knee to the might of Chaos!

    I believe you are correct.

    Obviously if the hellcannon dies, the handlers are immediately removed as well.
     
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  10. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Okay, just had an idea... Check this out:

    The Hellcannon has the rule "Move or Fire" in this rule it states that it also applies if the unit with this rule has been moved by magic or other reasons.

    If you cast Wind Blast from the Lore of Heavens on the Hellcannon, it shouldn't be able to fire in its next phase.

    @NIGHTBRINGER @Lord Agragax of Lunaxoatl @Scalenex @ASSASSIN_NR_1 @airjamy @Carnikang @ChapterAquila92 @Imrahil @Paradoxical Pacifism

    Thoughts?

    If I can build a general consensus on something I've come up with as tactics for the Hellcannon on LO then I will go over with my friend as a rule to apply when we next play.

    (I will still try out my tactic of Skink Hero on Terradon, glittering scales, relic blade and dragon helm to see if I can tie up a Hellcannon for a few turns. This would make the Hellcannon 5+ to hit me and I would still have a 4+ armour save after deductions for strength so it's an idea)
     
  11. ASSASSIN_NR_1
    Carnasaur

    ASSASSIN_NR_1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well, the idea is nice, but doesn't work as far as I know, since 'Move or Fire' only triggers if the Hellcannon moved earlier in the turn. Since 'Wind Blast' would only move it in your turn, it will not have moved in its own turn, thus it can still shoot.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2020
    airjamy and Scalenex like this.
  12. Scalenex
    Slann

    Scalenex Keeper of the Indexes Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    8,595
    Trophy Points:
    113
    [​IMG]via Imgflip Meme Generator

    You could theoretically target the individual models with the Lore of Death, but in most cases you are far better off casting Spirit Leech on the Hellcannon itself.

    I enjoying seeing unorthodox tactics, and it truth I am happier when an unorthodox plan is a marginal success than when a tried and true tactic is a smashing success. That said, most unorthodox tactics I try are failures.
     
  13. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Blast. Fair enough.
     
  14. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Casting Spirit Leech on Hellcannon is a flipping great idea!!! It's only Leadership 4!!! Thanks!

    Yes, I'm kind of part-time amusing myself with coming up with wild theories (as you may have observed on this thread) for fighting Chaos. I'm looking fowards to trying out the crazier ones.
     
    ASSASSIN_NR_1 and Scalenex like this.
  15. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    32,583
    Likes Received:
    89,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Interesting, though I'm not sure that it works like that.
     
  16. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The Lord giveth... and the Lord taketh away...

    You mean it should be the handlers leadership?

    Doesn't really fit with the concept of the spell attacking the actual Hellcannon though.
     
  17. Scalenex
    Slann

    Scalenex Keeper of the Indexes Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    8,595
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would argue that since the spell says you target "the model" and use it's "unmodified Leadership" that it would test on Ld4. That's how I've played it before.

    Note, most opponents dispel my Spirit Leech spells with prejudice, but it's better than nothing.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2020
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  18. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    32,583
    Likes Received:
    89,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    First, let me just say that I am not entirely sure. I'm just speculating. However, since the crew can't be targeted separately, I view the Hellcannon and crew as essentially a single entity (sort of like a Stegadon and its Skink crew, with the caveat that misfires can remove the crew, and unsaved woulds are randomized 1-4 and 5-6). Then, as per the faq, you would use the highest available leadership, which in this case is the Chaos Dwarf crew's leadership of 9.
     
  19. Lizards of Renown
    Carnasaur

    Lizards of Renown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think possibly the key to this is the fact that the Spirit Leech spell targets a "single enemy model (even a character in a unit)" and then "add their unmodified leadership values".

    If unit had a champion, they would be able to use that models leadership but it would be a MODIFIED leadership figure.

    Same with the Monster it seems to me, in relation to the handlers.

    The spell is targeting that model and attempting to draw the life from it, not from the handlers.
     
  20. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    32,583
    Likes Received:
    89,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's the thing, the crew aren't single models. They are part of the Hellcannon model, just like the Stegadon and its howdah skinks. A champion or a character can be sniped and they can be directly targeted if within base-to-base contact; the hellcannon crew cannot be. As such, when the hellcannon is targeted by Spirit Leech, the FAQ ruling comes into play. At least that's the way I see it.
     
    Lizards of Renown likes this.

Share This Page