1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Selfless Protectors and Revivifying Energies

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by xoid, Apr 8, 2020.

  1. xoid
    Skink

    xoid Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If you have both saurus guard and an astrolith bearer by a slann how do these abilities interact? The way I read it if there are any unsaved wounds on the slann before they are allocated you use selfless protectors and on a 2+ the wound is allocated to the Guard instead of the slann, and then you allocate the wound to the slann or the guards, depending on the previous result, and at that point that unit gets the 6+ save from the astrolith bearer (assuming everybody is within the correct distances). Is that correct?
     
  2. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    8,405
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It occurs during damage allocation. This happens after saves. So any damage you pass off will just directly stick to the unit. The Slann however would get the 6+ save vs damage from the Astrolith before having to roll 2+ to pass them off. That, or you would just roll for 6's on any damage that wasn't passed off for the Slann. And then roll 6's for the Saurus Guard. Either way, you don't get to try to save the damage twice.
     
  3. xoid
    Skink

    xoid Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You shouldn't be able to take the 6+ before the 2+, as selfless protectors happens before you allocate wounds and revivifying energies occurs when wounds are allocated. Or is there a FAQ somewhere that overrides those wordings?
     
  4. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    8,405
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There is an designers commentary about how to handle save after saves and passing wounds in the LoN section related to Necromancers. Pretty sure you make all saves. Allocate damage. Then the hero and the unit make their respective 6+ deathless minions saves.
     
  5. xoid
    Skink

    xoid Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, I'll look for it!
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. Grotpunter
    Kroxigor

    Grotpunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    63
    You calculate the total amount of damage allocated to your Kloak/Slann, then pass them off on a 2+ and afterwards get to use any FNP saves (Kroak 4+, Astrolith 6+).

    I guess this is the FAQ LizardWizard refers to.
    The Ceaseless Vigil is the same kind of ability as Selfless Protectors.

    upload_2020-4-9_21-14-52.png
     
    LizardWizard likes this.

Share This Page