1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Lord Kroak as BSB

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Lizards of Renown, Jul 15, 2020.

  1. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Clue is in the title really.

    Lizardmen rulebook say one Slann Mage Priest, one Scar-Veteran or one Skink Chief can be BSB.

    In Lord Mazdamundi's rules it says if you field him he MUST be your BSB.

    Lord Kroak is a Slann Mage Priest.

    It would make logical sense that a standard could be attached to his palanquin and that he would be a rallying point for the army.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    57,857
    Likes Received:
    178,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I do not believe he can be. As a special character, I don't think you can purchase any additional upgrades for him (unless it were specifically specified, which it is not). Mazdamundi is different since his rules outright state that he is a BSB.
     
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  3. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    But you agree he is a Slann Mage Priest? Right?

    And Mazdamundi’s rules state not that he “can” be a BSB, but that he “must” be your BSB...
     
  4. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    57,857
    Likes Received:
    178,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Technically isn't he a Relic Priest?


    As an aside, Kroak does not have the Telepathic Confabulation which both regular Slann Mage-Priests and Mazdamundi have.
     
  5. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ah... yeah, he is... Bugger.

    It's true about the telepathic confabulation (which I've always thought is a pretty pointless rule, since I have never heard of someone ACTUALLY fielding two Slann, but anyways.)
     
  6. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    57,857
    Likes Received:
    178,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Agreed. That has to be the most pointless rule of all time. First off, you need to have two Slanns on the battlefield, so it can only be utilized in VERY big games. Second, I can't think of very many scenarios where it would be very useful.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2020
    Lizards of Renown likes this.
  7. Lizards of Renown
    Slann

    Lizards of Renown Herald of Creation

    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    24,772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    True. I literally cannot think of any reason apart from a battle that would be 10K upwards and the gaming table is 36' wide or something. If you knew that you'd be facing multiple level 4 wizards then I gues you'd do it then? But still with the maximum power dice at 12, it would be a total wasted resource.
     
    NIGHTBRINGER likes this.

Share This Page