1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Skink Chief Band of Brothers on Rippers

Discussion in 'Lizardmen & Saurian Ancients Tactics' started by LTERALUS, May 21, 2015.

  1. LTERALUS
    Skink

    LTERALUS New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Just play tested this idea and ripped (no pun intended) through 20 dwarf hammerers in my charge. My chameleons and magic were able to keep his war machines at bay the first turn.

    5 Skink Chiefs on Ripperdactyls, armed with lt armor, spear and shield for 3+ AS, S5 on charge
    One has the Egg, one is BSB with Standard of discipline, and one has ironcurse icon

    Since Chiefs on Rippers aren't skirmishers and can't join Ripper units, I had them run together and kept them behind Rippers for protection. Ripper unit also allowed me to blot toad the hammerers so my Chief rippers got the extra attacks. Here is how it went down:

    1. Hammerers pass fear test (they're dwarfs after all).
    2. Egg goes off on 4+, rolled 8 strength 5 hits which killed 5 dwarfs
    3. 15 attacks from Chiefs hit on 4s and wound on 3s, kill 5 dwarfs
    4. 22 attacks from 5 rippers hit on 4s (with rerolls) and wound on 4s (armor piercing so no saves), kill the remaining 10 dwarfs.

    Not sure if this idea is legal, but it sure caused serious damage.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2015
    Sebbs and n810 like this.
  2. Man0waR
    Kroxigor

    Man0waR Member

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You cannot join a character into flying units.

    A Ripper skink is already a unit with the rule fly.

    You can have them scattered but never in unit, Also you can claim 4+ Look out Sir if you are near a unit of the same type with 5 or more models.
    You can protect your ripper chief by moving along a unit of 6 terradon for example.
     
  3. LTERALUS
    Skink

    LTERALUS New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Makes sense. That actually helps to keep the chiefs alive with 4+ LOS. Thanks!
     
  4. Slanputin
    Carnasaur

    Slanputin Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    1,721
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Interestin. How expensive is it?
     
  5. LTERALUS
    Skink

    LTERALUS New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    430 without magic items. 500 with
    Basically same as OB on Carno
     
  6. airjamy
    Terradon

    airjamy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    63
    It's not legal, so well, that's kinda it. I think you can field the unit with like a unit of 3 rippers, i think then everybody can join the unit?
     
  7. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    48,552
    Likes Received:
    146,573
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Unfortunately not, page 97 of the BRB states...
    "Unless otherwise stated, a character cannot join a unit of monsters (too much danger of being stood on), a unit of flyers (too many ill-disciplined wings buffeting the sky)...."

    Our previous army book specified that chiefs on terradons could join terradon units, but there is no such distinction in our current army book (silly omission on GW's part).
     
  8. Qupakoco
    Skink Chief

    Qupakoco Keeper of the Dice Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    1,164
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Even if they can't join together, you can still have them fly close to each other. The BSB in their midst will definitely help and a Ripper-screen would work. I'd like to try it.
     
  9. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    48,552
    Likes Received:
    146,573
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That would work. Ripper screen and 4+ LOS!

    It would be extremely costly though. Might be better off with a magic carpet oldblood.
     

Share This Page